04.16.2022 Smiling on Saturday

That’s me having spotted and photographed my first butterfly of 2022.

Cabbage White-Pieris rapae on some of our iris foliage.  These usually are pretty active but it’s chilly today so that got this one sitting and saving its energy to stay warm. Even though it was sitting pretty still, I didn’t want to approach too close so used the doubler on my 180 macro.  Yay Spring!

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Butterflies, Closeup Photography, Insects, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 04.16.2022 Smiling on Saturday

  1. Mike Powell says:

    Congratulations, Steve, on your first butterfly of the spring. I know from experience that these Cabbage Whites are usually really active and do not sit still for very long.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Good day for firsts… I saw (and heard!) my first bumblebee queen out of hibernation, yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hooray that butterfly spring has come your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    Newly-hatched, yes? It’s so pristine, it surely must be part of this spring’s new ‘crop.’

    Liked by 1 person

  5. melissabluefineart says:

    Hooray for spring, indeed! Neither my irises or any butterflies are as active as I see in your photo. We’re having a pretty chill spring. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ann Mackay says:

    Our first butterflies have been too quick for me – just a flash of something dark. But it’s great to see the insects coming back to the garden. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. krikitarts says:

    There are so many butterflies with gaudy colors, but I’ve also found myself drawn to the simpler ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly I am not at all fussy about which ones I see, I want to see a lot so whoever shows up makes me happy. I am a little more fussy about moths as there are several, of course out of the tens of thousand different species, that I have always hoped to see, such as a luna, but haven’t yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • krikitarts says:

        I clearly remember stashing away a cocoon in autumn in my teenage days, and even more clearly the overwhelming aroma it produced as the adult Polyphemus moth emerged in the spring, as it permeated the entire garage; it’s been one of my favorites ever since. I’ve seen a few lunas at our cabin, but don’t seem to have posted any photos. Must see about correcting that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll look forward to seeing your luna.

        Like

  8. Wally Jones says:

    A first butterfly for Spring! Wonderful photograph.
    I am jealous it not only held still for you but displayed its wings so nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Wally. I’ve photographed these a few times, always with wings folded. It was chilly so maybe it had its wings spread trying to get what little warmth the partly sunny sky was offering.

      Like

  9. So nice to see them, we have had many sightings, they are coming out nearly two weeks earlier these days (orange-tip especially has responded to milder spring weather, but also peacock and cabbage whites).

    Liked by 1 person

    • In some parts of Massachusetts folks are seeing early butterflies closer to the east end and the ocean. Still fairly chilly here so the vast numbers are still waiting in the wings. 🙂

      Like

  10. Nice & Congrats on your First Butterfly of 2022!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. bluebrightly says:

    Those Cabbage whites – always the first out -and I confess that I never quite feel as warm toward them as I do toward other butterflies, simply because they’re so common. Too many times I’ve sensed a butterfly nearby and said to myself, “Oh, just a Cabbage white.” Terrible, I know. But you made it look graceful and I’m going to try to change my ways. Thanks to your rendition, I see pencil or charcoal marks on the wings, which I never thought of before, so now I have a “handle” on which to hang my appreciation. My Zen training has gone out the window! A practice of Zen Buddhism is not being choosy like that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment