08.24.2021 Two-fer Tuesday

Two-fer Tuesday means two of something…actually I first heard it on the radio when they would play two tunes by the same artist/group. And there likely will be two posts today.  In this case it’s two “bugs”.

Northern Flatid Planthopper-Flatormenis proxima and Say’s Trig Cricket-Anaxipha exigua.  Of course the bright hopper caught my eye and while I was crouching to get a good shot the cricket popped up in the leaf node. At first just its head was seen but eventually it crawled up so I could get a good identifiable angle and luckily enough parallel to both insects.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Closeup Photography, Insect Behavior, Insects, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 08.24.2021 Two-fer Tuesday

  1. Gallivanta says:

    An interesting two-fer. I wonder if the cricket was considering a planthopper meal or if the hopper and the cricket had both found something delicious to eat at the same spot..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    I usually see planthoppers on our fig trees. It’s a different species (Metcalfa pruinosa , or the citrus flatid planthopper) but the appearance is much the same. They are cute little things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    Cute little insect! Great shot, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tina says:

    Isn’t it great when your subjects cooperate? Great shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I always confuse planhoppers with leafhoppers. Are you aware of an easy way to tell them apart?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment