07.12.2016 A piece of the puzzle

The puzzle is the wide expanse of what makes up our world.  Sometimes larger than life in our limited human experience and sometimes much smaller than our imagination can conjure.  In between can be found many levels for observation as we notice the various parts that make up the whole.

Yesterday I shared a raindrop that had clung to a lily stem.  This image is a study of the construction of a purple pitcher plant flower (Sarracenia purpurea) seen on July 10 at Hawley Bog.

Purple-Pitcher-Plant-flower-back-071016-1048I found this side of the flower just as interesting as the front.  It is the colorful bracts and gathered raindrops that immediately get our attention.  But the subtle combination of the complementary red and green tones seen on the sepals enhanced by the rainy day light bring me the most pleasure.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, The Nature Conservancy, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.12.2016 A piece of the puzzle

  1. jonacua says:

    Very good photo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    This is such a complex flower. If someone asked me to describe a sunflower, or a violet, I could do it. But if I tried to describe a purple pitcher plant, I’m not sure I’d know how to begin. The photo seems painting-like to me — something Georgia O’Keeffe might have done. I can imagine it on a wall, enlarged by several feet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like your imagination, Linda. I am not sure it will be quite that size, but it is going to hang on one of our walls…if I am lucky someday maybe someone else’s too.

      I am sure a description could be made althoiough it would have to be long and thorough. But that befits a plant with a complex existence.

      Like

  3. As you pointed out, both of our posts today got “bogged down.” I see from the website of Hawley Bog that it “ranks among the best remaining examples of a natural New England bog.” Lucky you to be close enough to visit whenever you want.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim Ruebush says:

    I am impressed by how many variations on a theme nature has created in the flower structures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No doubt nature easily surpasses our own imaginations. As varied as flower structures and life design can be, they are behind the strategies in the insect world. We are pretty simple in our existence (although complicated in our behavior) compared to the rest of the natural world.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautywhizz says:

    I really like the colouring of the pitcher plant. Great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is delightful to let your eye roam around this image, isn’t it? The shades of color, the contours….

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice, alternate, view.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

