05.08.2016 A small waterfall on Buffam Brook

There is an area in Pelham called Buffam Falls Conservation Area and I have shared a few images from there over the years.  This is a spot where I also go along Buffam Brook about a half mile upstream from the falls. I’ve also shared images from here before…which can be seen here.  Today’s image is similar to the first image from that post but with a foreground ( American False Hellebore-Veratrum viride)…and a mat.

Buffam-Brook-Small-Waterfall-050716-1075I also shot above the falls, a cascade which you just see at the top, that is similar to the third shot in the linked post.  I’ll share that one tomorrow or in a day or two…other things in the pipeline as well.  It’s been a good two days. I’m hoping to get a shot of the Wood Poppy that popped up in the yard, but it’s very windy today so no flower photography.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 05.08.2016 A small waterfall on Buffam Brook

  1. This is one waterfall photo that I really like. Focusing mainly or maybe not on the greenery made this an outstanding photograph. The colors are magical. It’s a beautiful scene. This one should be printed and framed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Did you take this with your super-wide-angle lens?

    The false hellebore is still truly green (viride).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh yes. I like the depth, layers, in this one. You’ve opened up with a deeper view of the woods beyond. There’s a crispness to the mid-tones that I like very well. The deep green speaks of botanical potential yet to be realized (but soon to come). Happy spring. The sun is entering the window to my right as I write. Perhaps I’ll get out with the camera today? Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, David. I think I need you to write up my images for me. There’s a lot more to your comment than I am likely to say. A lot of what I do as I compose and expose never is thought out in words. I agree…Happy Spring and hurrah for the return of the greenery.

      Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    The clarity of the pooling water is lovely. If that hellebore just would stop with the photo-bombing….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: 05.13.2019 Upstream Buffam Brook | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a comment