05.07.2016 Mr. Toad

Well….it may be Ms. Toad, I’m not sure at all.  Anyway, this appears to be one unhappy toad.  Besides the stern grimace, there seems to be a middle finger thing happening as well.  Actually, several frogs and toads have one “finger” longer than the others, but considering his expression….

American-Toad-050716-960American Toadlet (he’s a youngster)-Bufo americanus (new nomencalture-Anaxyrus americanus) upon a Canada Mayflower leaf-Maianthemum canadense in my backyard.  I was photographing a new wildflower that just showed up after never being here before and this little toad hopped out from under some leaves.  After jumping away a few times, he landed on this leaf and I approached slowly and from eye level so as to not startle. To get an idea just how small he is, that’s a pine needle.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 05.07.2016 Mr. Toad

  1. That’s small indeed. This toadlet doesn’t strike me as being unhappy. I guess happiness joins beauty in the eye of the beholder.

    Like

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    I find it amazing these creatures can survive long cold winters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great shot. Amazing opportunity. I’m sure you had to act quickly to get this one in time. Nice job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was surprised at how long he sat there, David. I think they get a sense of camouflage and that sitting still will hide them. I did have to crawl closer slowly and it works much better if you are at or near eye level.

      Like

  4. Gallivanta says:

    How tiny, indeed. Perhaps the toadlet thought it was in danger of being squished if it did not make its presence clear.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Your ability to capture these images fascinates me. I can’t even see the big frogs — the ones that make such a splash when they hit the water. I need to enroll in Frog-Seeing 101. Still, this passage from “Pilgrim at Tinker Creek” gives some comfort. Dillard writes, and makes me laugh, with this:

    ” I once spent a full three minutes looking at a bullfrog that was so unexpectedly large I couldn’t see it even though a dozen enthusiastic campers were shouting directions. Finally I asked, “What color am I looking for?” and a fellow said, “Green.” When at last I picked out the frog, I saw what painters are up against: the thing wasn’t green at all, but the color of wet hickory bark.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • It takes practice to see as with all things. Of course, if one hops out from the leaves it does make seeing a little easier. Some of these critters do blend in incredibly well though and are almost impossible to pick out even when told where to look…like Steve’s lizard the other day.

      Like

  6. Jackson says:

    Such a great image and pose, Steve! I’ve done enough toad photography to know just how difficult such a thing is. I wish I could get that good an image of our local Bufo exsul!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your Deep Springs or Black Toad is a handsome looker and I can understand the attraction. Our American Toad is quite common and widespread. They can be a challenge most of the time but occasionally sit still for a few.

      Like

Leave a Reply

