05.27.2014 Buffam Brook Waterfall

For the local among you this is not Buffam Brook Falls but a little upstream on Buffam Road.

Saturday was rainy which made for saturated colors as well as conditions.  I photographed this a while ago…several years…but this is the most water I have seen flowing over these rocks in a while.Buffam-Brook-waterfall-2-052414-600WebI did some clean up of branches that were in the various parts of the waterfall and took a little water in my boots, but this was my last stop before heading home for the day, so soggy socks were not a concern.  It was worth helping the cascades stay white and clean, mostly.  There are a couple of twiggy things I couldn’t reach without chest waders.

The more interesting side.Buffam-Brook-waterfall-052414-600WebAnd here is a look at the upper section from 2006.  It was rainy back then too with some nice fog.  The foreground stump is no longer there.Buffam-Road-Cascades-#1-800FB

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 05.27.2014 Buffam Brook Waterfall

  1. All three pics are so pretty. I’ve run out of descriptive words. I really like the first photo since i am crazy about rocks and these are lovely with all the green decorations.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Shame the stump has gone from 2006. I like that. I find the broader perspective appealing. Perhaps you could borrow a new stump and import it?

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    There are all wonderful photos. It’s interesting seeing the changes when you go back to a place.

    Like

    • Thanks, Lyle. Usually the differences are additions such as tree height or thicker plant growth but with the water features it is the case that things move around or disappear. In most of these cascades/waterfalls there are leftovers from the winter and spring runoff like branches that need to relocate for the composition. I’m not that agile any more so there are now certain things I can’t do, but I try to clear out as much as I can.

      Like

      • Lyle Krahn says:

        I can see by your comments that I have not been nearly as vigilant when I have attempted to take shots like that. It probably stems from my aversion to getting wet!

        Like

      • I’m not a big fan of getting wet either, Lyle. I sometimes think I am a little off center wading around on slippery rocks and all, but the results are usually worth it. I only clean stuff that is naturally moveable like branches and leaves but never living plants or even the rocks.

        Like

  4. Hi Steve
    More great shots. I really appreciate the way you work a location. I’m going to go with number 3 as my favorite. I love the rock in the foreground.
    James

    Like

    • Thanks, James. I was disappointed that the stump had become part of the downstream detritus but it is still a lovely little waterfall and I look forward to it again in the autumn or even sooner if there is a good fog.
      Although I am on record as loving to revisit my favorite spots or subjects, I still try to shoot as many possibilities as I can…especially since it is now just a bunch of bytes rather than Kodachromes.

      Like

  5. Sorry, I should have said rock and stump!

    Like

  6. We don’t have mossy rocks in our streams here, just mud, so I really enjoy getting to visually splash around in your photos. It is neat to see changes over time, isn’t it? I like the first photo the best, too.

    Like

    • Even though moss is quite wide spread here I still enjoy every new experience with it. So seeing this mossy scene was fun and I am glad you get to share in it. I will be sure to post more during the next months, Melissa. Thanks.

      Like

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    These photographs remind me so much of my childhood. I used to love finding streams and then wading up them. Clinging on for dear life to branches, slippery, mossy rocks as I made my way ‘up the amazon’. We had brilliant adventures and made many discoveries – the finest being a stash of blue sherry bottles that had been hidden in the mulch by the stream. And when I look at your pictures now, I can still smell that stream and remember the soaking wet socks inside my boots and the tear in blue overallls. Fantastic!Thanks, Steve.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Lottie!!!! Really. I appreciate every comment I receive and when someone says something nice about an image it does bring great pride in my work. But when an image gives pleasure from a level beyond a pretty picture then I feel I have accomplished something and the reminder of your childhood memories tells me just that. 😀

      Like

  8. ImageSelect says:

    Waterfalls are often photographed landmarks. One of the most stunning ways to capture a waterfall or a flowing stream is to show movement.

    Stock photo sites

    Like

  9. Purebudget says:

    Wonderful photographs ! Waterfalls do present themselves as a wonderful and challenging subject matter to photographers. Firstly they’re beautiful places, secondly they are often in tricky lighting situation and thirdly they’re a dynamic subject

    Micro stock photos

    Like

  10. Pingback: 05.08.2016 A small waterfall on Buffam Brook | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

