05.06.2015 Southeast Street Fog

While driving to Shutesbury for my previous shots, I noticed this foggy bottomland in Amherst. The Norwottuck Railtrail runs down there surrounded by ponds and often generating ground fogs.  I noticed the tree in the gap and lined it up for this composition.  A little Nik Silver Efex Pro and a few other adjustments and I got an image I am quite pleased with.

Southeast-Street-Landscape-050415-700WebPlease click the image to see it full sized.  I know that not everyone likes borders, but I wanted to be sure everyone sees this with the image standing out against a dark background like I have on my own display.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 05.06.2015 Southeast Street Fog

  1. Andrew says:

    I would be hugely pleased with this Steve. I have a thing about trees at the moment and the B&W treatment is superb.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim in IA says:

    I see why this is a favorite. The placement of the center tree is just right. The black border does set off the image quite well. I see similar effects with some dark borders Melanie uses on some of her quilts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have one photographer friend who mats all his prints in black with a black frame. I like the effect, but am not sure I would want to do all mine that way. Maybe just a few. I think, for black and white, the traditional white mat works very well.

      Like

  3. There is a haunting beauty in this photo, isn’t there?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I know you’ve mentioned that Nik Silver business before, but I probably wouldn’t have remembered it had another of my blog friends not mentioned it in his post today. Whatever it is, here’s Andy’s example of what it can do. I’m going to take this link over to him, too. I really like the result in both cases.

    The photo itself is stunning. The black border’s not so obtrusive in the larger version, but it still is distracting for me. Rather than showcasing the photo, it seems to draw my eye away from it. But that’s no doubt just a matter of taste rather than anything else.

    You fooled me at first. I assumed the dark band across the top was cloudy sky. Not so! And the illuminated tree on the left reminds me of Ansel Adams’s wonderful shots of aspens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do get mixed reviews on the borders and generally prefer none. But when I looked at this on the white WP background it seemed the image stood out a little better with the black surrounding it. There is minimal contrast in the image itself, so I figure the border helps with that.
      I looked at Andy’s post and he has a nice image there. What it is…all the Nik software are what are called “plug ins” for Photoshop or Lightroom. They are nice processing adjuncts to those programs that add functionality that is either missing or not as well developed, so to speak, as the added software. Photoshop does have the ability to convert to black and white, but with limited function. Nik expands that function and allows much more control…like a more fully stocked and equipped darkroom.

      Like

  5. This is very beautiful. The atmosphere is very mystic. Could be the cover for a horror book ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice! The mystery of it gets to me. That tree that the opening in the woods leads to seems like a person with upraised arms.

    The black border is all right with me because otherwise the very light grey parts of the image would bleed into the white of the page, as you mentioned.

    Like

    • Fog is such a great agent of mystery. One never quite knows for sure what is hidden. I drove by here this afternoon with bright sunlight and the scene is much less uninteresting

      Like

  7. Please forgive me for being out-of-touch for so long Steve. This is the middle of finals week – and, after that, I hope to be getting back to things which have been sorely neglected over the last weeks. This is a lovely shot. The b/w works nicely. D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks.
      I am glad that you are drawing near the end of the school year and will have a little more time for yourself, David. Good to hear that you will be able to pursue a few more soul fulfilling moments.

      Like

  8. As far as I’m concerned, Steve, you can no wrong with any part of this photo. Of course, I’m partial to B&W and black frames or mats. The scene speaks volumes and gives a strong sense of serenity, quietness and has an overall ethereal appearance. Positively beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Phil Lanoue says:

    Excellent! I love a foggy scene.

    Like

  10. Lyle Krahn says:

    Standing in the gap – just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lottie Nevin says:

    I think it’s already been said by everyone in the comments above. Splendido as we say in Spain!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: 06.20.2014 The break of day | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

