05.05.2015 Houston-Gage Unnamed Brook

One of the things I enjoy about nature photography is the opportunity to go places that are not highly frequented.  I do go to a lot of the popular spots around here, and I believe Houston-Gage is actively hiked as I know a few folks who walk there, but leaving the path offers things that are not often seen…as far as I know.  When I Googled Houston-Gage and looked for images, there were only a couple and most were mine from last year. In a few weeks there will be painted trilliums there along with a lot of other flowers and this brook will be down to a trickle unless we start to see some rain here.

I hope you like this one.  I tried to balance the exposure so we could see the movement of the water yet not soften the effect too much.

Houston-Gage-Unnamed-brook-050415-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 05.05.2015 Houston-Gage Unnamed Brook

  1. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wow that’s a beauty Steve! Well done.

    Like

  2. Jackson says:

    Yes, I really like this one, with the silky curves of flow and the little curtain.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Jackson. I was quite happy to find this arrangement of rocks along with the level of flow. It won’t last long unless we see some rain which hasn’t happened in a while.

      Like

  3. Once again I’m impressed by the huge boulders that are covered in moss. Those rocks add so much to the cascading water or maybe it is vice versa. Beautiful shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, you’ve retained striations in the main flow of the water.

    Good of you to point out the special pleasure in visiting places that are seldom frequented and that therefore remain mostly wild.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Steve. I am often remiss for not spending more time in places that are popular and looking for the less than obvious picture, but there is so much to see in the wild.

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Way back in my files, there’s a draft of a post that begins by talking about the confluence of “I never knew” and “I had forgotten.” When I looked at your photo, the confluence of the two streams at the top brought that back. I’m fascinated not only by the way you’ve captured five sections of a stream, each with a different quality, but also by how beautifully balanced they are.
    And the big blocks of moss-covered rock are the perfect foil.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those two confluences that you mention are a daily reality for me, Linda. There are so many things that I say I didn’t know that it turns out I just did not remember knowing.

      I was happy that I had worn my Muck Boots so I could stand in the water for this.The angle made all the difference in balancing the elements.

      Like

      • I hadn’t forgotten that you mentioned Muck Boots in at least one other post, so I checked out the company’s website just now and found several instances of mens that should be men’s and womens that should be women’s.

        I also found out that the company “does not warrant any of its footwear provides protection from snake bites or bites from other wildlife and is not liable for personal injury resulting from such bites.” Watch out that you don’t get any snake bites, moose bites, turtle bites, etc.

        Like

      • I try to avoid bites from any critter. The Muck Boots are not my first choice as they offer little arch support. What I prefer, and they are available at NS.N but cheaper at Amazon, are NEOS Overshoes that go right over my hiking boots. My old ones leak now, so I just ordered a pair of these which are the next best things to hip boots or waders.

        Like

  6. Trilliums are beautiful flowers. We don’t have them in the wild in Europe since it’s native to North America and Asia. But I’ve seen some pictures today on another blog. Apparently, they are already out in some places 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lottie Nevin says:

    What I really love about your water/rock/cascade images is that one can almost ‘smell’ them. It probably sounds a bit daft but they take me back to my childhood and the hours that I used to spend playing in streams and rivers with my brother. I can feel that damp moss, smell the mulch underfoot and hear the water playing, almost as music. Happy days 🙂

    Like

    • No daftness detected, Lottie. I am the same way…there are places I go that have a certain smell or sound that sends me back to another time. I once had a past life reading given me as a gift. The person saw me in a jungle which would account for a lot now. Of course, I think it was a crock ( beforehand his wife came in and talked with me a lot about my interests in life and I am sure he was listening on the other side of the door) but what the heck…no harm done. 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh, yes, very much. Lots of movement, and I like the still, dark pool of water in contrast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa. I am often jealous of images that I see of streams cutting through an open meadow, but those found in the woodlands give us such nice contrasts as you mention. And the dark pools are so nice and cold in the summer. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

