08.27.2013 A visit to the Lotus Pond

Sunday morning I did my weekly walk along the railtrail and Poor Farm Swamp which was my last post.  On the way home I passed the lotus pond that I have visited for years.  It is owned by a very nice lady who is getting on in years and much of her property is now maintained by others who look after her.  She is very sweet and Mary Beth knows her from the Amherst Orchid Club meetings.  A few years back, while I was photographing, she arrived home and parked in her drive to get her paper.  She apologized for getting in my shot…which she had not…but it made me smile as it was my privilege to shoot there and for her to apologize seemed a bit unnecessary.  As I mentioned, she is very sweet. 🙂

The pond is flowering late this year, I think as a result of a spring dredging, but they are really starting to perk. Lotus-082513-800WebHowever, the flowers are not the only attraction.  The leaves are quite lovely and provide a lot of interest through the season.  Here is one from Sunday.Lotus-Leaf-backlit-082513-800webOne from an Autumn frosty morning.Lotus-Leaf-in-Autumn-800FBA little something from my distant past.Lotus-Seedhead-and-Leaf-101808-800FBJust kidding…but it is an older image.  And, finally, back to the flowers and an abstract bud shot.Lotus-Detail-080412-800FBIn the next few weeks, I hope to do a little more at the pond.  And just to show that even when you cross the street to get back in the van, there might be something worth looking at, here is a little dogbane beetle that was checking out the photographer.

Hello!Dogbane-Beetle-082513-800WebWhew.  That’s a lotta stuff.  I may not be able to post for a few days now. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Autumn Color, Flora, Insect Behavior, Insects, macro photography, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 08.27.2013 A visit to the Lotus Pond

  1. Just Rod says:

    You’ve done it again Steve, six smashing shots showering us with sunshine.
    The beetle is very colourful. The story of the lotus lady added a nice human touch.

    Like

    • Thanks, Rod. I was trying to think of another Looney Tunes ending but no go. She really is quite lovely and one of the orchid club folks created a prize winning orchid hybrid and named it after her. I am glad she is still able to enjoy her pond so much.

      Like

  2. Everyone that photographs needs a lotus lady. She sounds like a very thoughtful person. I like this nice grouping. The brown seed pod is a favorite. But all of these as usual are way above par.The blue bug is a gorgeous color. I can never achieve a nice blue color unless I use a polarizer or photograph in the shade.

    Like

  3. These are just incredible Steve, the detail and color in these images are amazing, well done !!

    Like

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    How spooky, I bought 2 bunches of lotus flowers yesterday with the idea of making a painting of them today. Lotus is obviously very ‘in’ at the moment! What a kind, good-hearted lady, how nice that she didn’t mind you photographing her flowers.
    That beetle is outrageous! What a handsome fellow. I like the leaf shots very much, especially the very green, veined one. It has a very restful quality about it. Great photos Steve 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Lottie. Are they “in”? I didn’t know but they are certainly worthy of the interest. I hope you will share your painting when completed. It is always fun to see all the different ways people can view a subject. Yes, that species of beetle is quite amazing, almost like a beetle aurora. 🙂

      Like

  5. Andrew says:

    A very touching anecdote, Steve. Shame there aren’t more Lotus Ladies around. I like the abstract bud image very much and the peeping beetle is fun and a very fine photo.

    Like

    • Yes, she is a very kind woman, Andrew. I hope she has many more years in her although she is failing. The world would be a much better place were there more of her lovely character in the populations.

      Like

  6. Absolutely fabulous series, Steve. Very strong photos, alone and together.

    Like

  7. Sandra says:

    I just love the close-up #2, 3 and 4 – especially #4 is very creative 🙂
    Sounds like you, the pond and the Lady will have some fun in the near future – looking forward to the pics already!

    Like

  8. Homer tells of Odysseus visiting the land of the lotus-eaters. Wikipedia adds that “the lotus fruits and flowers were the primary food of the island and were narcotic, causing the people to sleep in peaceful apathy.” It’s clear you weren’t sleeping during your visit to the land of the lotus lady, though nature photography can be a sort of narcotic.

    Like

  9. Greg Russell says:

    Wonderful images, Steve! Every one of them. Your macro work really shines and these are some lovely macro intimate portraits…

    Like

Leave a Reply

