04.02.2013 Owl Rock Cascade

Keeping with the two looks at one subject theme, here is a water feature that I am calling Owl Rock Cascade as it reminds me of a Barn Owl.  I hope Andrew can see it this time. 🙂

When in college at UMass, my friends and I would go to this spot we called the cascades for a swim in the pool at the base of the brook that had cut through the solid rock over the years.  Swimming is now, and probably was then too, frowned upon as it is part of our town’s drinking water supply. There is an old chimney standing at the upper part that must have been part of a mill years ago.  In May it is also my favorite place to photograph Painted Trillium and Pink Lady’s Slippers.  A good place for mushrooms too it is.

As always, please click for a larger view.

After the pool, there is the rock and cascade.A nice collection of cacades in Dean Brook, Shutesbury, Massachusetts.Again, this is a nice scene on its own, but I really like the rock so I have composed a more intimate view which, I hope, suggests to you a Barn Owl. 🙂A closeup of a cascade along Dean Brook in Shutesbury, MA.My friend and local photographer, Keith Carver….bird photographer extraordinaire…sees a Barn Owl also.  Click on his name and get lost in his bird images. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 04.02.2013 Owl Rock Cascade

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    Pure Genius. Beautiful photographs, Steve. I loved Keith Carver’s bird shots too- stunning.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I see the owl now, Steve. Barn owl it is. I like these very much and can’t wait for the Painted Trillium season.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. I am quite eager for the flowers. Maybe something will be present this weekend as the sun is getting warmer. We’ve had a couple of cool days but I think things are moving right along.

      Like

  3. Yes, I can see the owl very well. Excellent shot by the way. Actually both are excellent shots. The blurry waterfall is always an eye catcher for me. Will look forward to the flower photos.

    Like

  4. Sandra says:

    I can see the barn owl, too 🙂
    This pool and cascades are very beautiful and seems to offer lots of photo opportunities as you mentioned. Always good to have places like this in the local area – it never gets boring 🙂
    Looking forward to more photos…

    Like

  5. quabbinite says:

    I see the Barn Owl. I like how you captured the water with its definition in the first picture, but you were still able to blur the cascade.

    Like

  6. Mark says:

    Well, that last shot certainly has all the right colors to make up a barn owl, but all I see is half of a Great Grey Owl’s face in that middle rock. 🙂 These look like they are great cascades Steve – great shots.

    Like

  7. Greg Russell says:

    Beautiful images, and thanks for making me think for a bit–I see the owl!

    How long passed between these two images?

    Like

  8. I see the owl, but probably other people see other things too. Not just to be contrarian, though I am that often, but to be honest, I like the first image better. Hard to say why, though the second image may be more unique and is certainly beautiful, I feel like it has a bit too much fuzzy white in it for my taste, whereas the first image has those beautiful translucent pour overs. Just my opinion. You will probably get many others.

    Like

    • Thanks David. Not contrarian at all. I like both and am pleased you do too. Preference is in the eye of the beholder. Not everybody likes the silkiness a long exposure creates in a waterfall/cascade so the wider view lessens the dominance of that feature.

      Like

  9. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful cascade pictures, Steve. I see the barn owl, but I’m more interested in the water…especially the flows in the first image.

    Like

  10. Of course I see it, but the fact that I do might give one pause, rather than relief as I see things all the time. Beyond the barn owls profile at the top of his (her?) head I can also see a tiny white owl formed in part of the cascade. Not a barn owl, but some other species I think. Wonderful, vivid shots, Steve.

    I also went to see your friend Kevin’s site. Excellent!

    Like

    • Well, this is embarrassing. 18 months later I see your reply, IK. Thanks for looking and seeing other things in the image. Water is wonderful and almost as good as clouds for flexing our imaginations.
      I hope all is well with you.

      Like

  11. Pingback: 11.13.2014 Dean Brook Cascade……again | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  12. Pingback: 12.08.2014 Dean Brook Cascade | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  13. Pingback: 11.06.2019 Wahconah Falls | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a comment