12.08.2014 Dean Brook Cascade

Despite the temperature falling to 12° Sunday night, there wasn’t as much ice accumulation as I had hoped for.  But this cascade never fails to please.  Owl Rock is under all that flow, so its appearance really depends on water levels .

Dean-Brook-Cascade-2-120814-700Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 12.08.2014 Dean Brook Cascade

  1. Another nice, dynamic, shot. I like the feeling of warmth that the dark-brown rocks give the thing. Good vantage as well … you weren’t standing in that super-chilled water … were you? D

    Like

    • The 70-200 kept me high and dry, David. One tripod leg was in the water, but I learned a long time ago not to totally collapse it in the cold. 🙂

      Like

      • What lesson was learned, I wonder? For, I have yet to learn that one.

        Like

      • I am trying to decide it you are being rhetorical? A wet tripod leg collapsed in the upper leg freezes shut and your shooting becomes that much more difficult.

        Like

      • No, it was not rhetorical. I can see that that would be the case … especially for metal legs. How frustrating. I didn’t report that, a couple of weeks ago I was loading the car and put my tripod on the roof for a moment. When all was packed up I got into the car and drove down the road in search of some photographic potential. When I reached my first stop … about 5 miles away … I got out and reached for my tripod … AND IT WASN’T IN THE BACK SEAT. I had driven to my destination at a leisurely 15-20 MPH hour. When I realized that my tripod had been on the roof … and fallen … I got back into the car and raced at more than 50 MPH to retrace my route. I discovered the tripod in the middle of the road where I had first turned onto it from the drive in which I had been parked. IT WAS RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. And no one had driven over it! OMG as the kids would say. A hard lesson to learn … the thing has a few scratches now … but I’ll simply tell folks they came from a time when I fended off a bear with the thing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • At least one bear, maybe more. That’s one I’ve never done. I found a wallet once that someone left on their car. ….overnight in her driveway. Someone found it, took the cash and threw it in my bushes while making their getaway.
        Luck shone on you that day.

        Like

  2. All those falls and they never fail to produce an interesting photograph. I don’t know how you get out in such bitter cold. You must have spent a small fortune on outdoor winter clothing and boots.

    Like

    • You get used to the cold as the winter wears on, Yvonne. While the teens sound pretty cold, after a week of singles and below zeroes, they seem warmer.
      But yes, I have spent a small fortune on warm gloves and boots….and a couple of cases of hand warmers and foot warmers.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Jim in IA says:

    After reading the tripod story from Pairadox I remembered something I did a couple of years ago. I met a friend in a school parking lot to view some astronomical event. I got out my iPod to check an app for timing etc. Then, I got out the rest of the equipment. The next evening some stranger drove up in my driveway and handed me my iPod. I had apparently left it on the trunk deck or rear bumper and drove home. They found it on the pavement and looked me up. It was good of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You were fortunate the iPod was picked up by an honest person. At least a phone can be traced when used…maybe even before. Not so with an iPod, I don’t think. Does it mean anything when we start forgetting things…I can’t remember. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is good to be reminded that all of these beautiful water shots don’t just happen~ you are out there with heavy equipment in tough terrain.
    Yesterday a friend of mine who is the new steward of Spring Bluff was telling me of a recent adventure out there with his camera. I was the steward there but passed it on to him because I just couldn’t take it anymore. 7′ vegetation hiding sinkholes and sloughs…shudder. Anyway, he spoke of mucking along in his Muck Boots, tripod balanced on his shoulder, camera held aloft, when he pulled out one foot~minus the boot. It was stuck in 2′ of mud. He told it with an amused glint in his eye but am I glad I don’t have to go in there anymore! Hats off to all of you intrepid photographers!

    Like

    • Two feet of boot sucking muck does not sound all that glinty to me either, Melissa. I’ve had similar experiences. I guess the worst part is putting the boot back on and then continuing your day. 😯

      The terrain can be challenging at times, especially in the winter. In addition to the warm gloves and boots, I also wear a pair of Microspikes that keep me slip free on icy rocks and frozen water..

      Like

  5. I like the way the water fans out as it comes across and then over the wide rock that’s a little above and to the left of the photo’s center.

    Even if you reverse the digits in 12° I wouldn’t want to be outdoors for long.

    Like

    • I purposely reduced the effect of the polarizer to maintain that movement so I appreciate that you noticed it, Steve.
      The only part of me that suffers the cold is my thumbs and especially the one that depresses the remote. Of course, my face is almost entirely covered by an UnderArmor balaclava topped off by a felt pullover. I am wearing a warm turtleneck under a fleece top inside a flannel lined canvas parka along with thermal longjohns inside flannel lined heavyweight jeans. Wool socks with a stickon foot warmer inside 40° below rated boots. So I am pretty well warmed and could add a bit more. OTOH, how little can you wear when it’s 100°+ in the shade? 🙂 Despite the humor, I’d rather be warm or even hot than cold.

      Like

  6. Lottie Nevin says:

    This is an absolutely beautiful shot, Steve, but it makes me go Brrrr knowing how cold it must have been. I bought some ice yesterday and as the bag was too large for our tiny freezer shelf in the fridge, I put the bag outside thinking that it would probably melt before the day was up – it’s now 27 hours later and the ice is still intact inside the bag outside the front door – I’m not joking when I say that it gets cold here too!

    Like

  7. Just Rod says:

    Another beautiful photograph of the falls Steve. I once left my briefcase by the side of the car as I loaded my portfolio. Drove over the briefcase bending my eye-glasses. When asked about the bent frames all day at classes, I said “run over today”. Got some funny looks.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    This is a glorious photo, Steve. I especially like the bit of ice that’s formed on the right — a portent of things to come. It may be just me, but it seems the “froth” draws my eye diagonaly, left to right, and then farther up the brook.

    Like

    • I considered several angles on this and settled for this diagonal, Linda. I also was careful to use the ice at both edges to frames the cascades. I shot one at an even sharper angle and then another more full on. I prefer this layout.

      Like

  9. tomwhelan says:

    Beautiful capture of the water flows – love those curving lines. Wish it were that cold here – it’s been pretty warm, in the 30s for the most part. Bring on the cold and ice…

    Like

    • We have had the same conditions with just a day here or there of cold, Tom. We’ve had two days in the lower teens and that is it. Tonight should be in the mid 20’s. I may head up into the Berkshires tomorrow where they had more snow than we did in the valley and it should be at least a few degrees colder.

      Like

Leave a Reply

