04.28.2013 Another return trip

The first thing I would like to do here is thank Gail Platz and the membership of the Quabbin Photo Group for inviting me to give a presentation of my images this past Monday, April 22nd.  The group were great hosts and I really appreciated the opportunity and warmth they offered.  It was an enjoyable experience and has me considering pursuing  more programs in the future.

Apparently my theme this year will be do-overs.  I shot an image of this dead branch in the water at Harvard Pond last year while there were lily pads floating and clouds hovering but felt a better image could be created when the pads were absent.  In both cases I considered the branch a good black and white subject.  For most of my time as a photographer I have always responded to nature in color.  Slowly I am thinking more in monochrome…at least where the color is not necessarily the subject of the image and really is more of a distraction than an asset.

Here is the image I made last year- As always, please click for a larger view:Figure-8-tree-reflection-090912-800FBThis morning provided a cloudless sky with little color, perfect for a high key rendering of the abstract formed by the branch:Harvard-Pond-deadwood-reflection-042813-800FBToday is also Mary Beth’s and my 29th anniversary.  She is wonderful and easily the better half of the duo.  A very lucky day for me on April 28, 1984.  I have no trouble remembering the date. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Patterns in Nature, Water and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 04.28.2013 Another return trip

  1. rabirius says:

    Excellent photographs.

    Like

  2. Mark says:

    Congratulations on the anniversary Steve! I really like the do-over. Very Zen-like.

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Congratulations Steve and Mary Beth. And well done on the presentation. It must be tough to choose the very best from so many fine images. These two tax me a little. I prefer the upper image in terms of simple content but the high key rendering of the lower image is very attractive. Could you do a high key version on the original? The crossover created by the reflection is excellent.

    Like

  4. Fred says:

    Beautiful do-over. And congratulations on your anniversary!

    Like

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    Happy Anniversary to you and congratulations.

    Both pictures are stunning but the second is my favourite. A work of art.

    Like

    • Thanks Lottie.

      And thanks for the nice comment. Coming from an artist such as yourself it is much appreciated. 🙂

      Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        I’m a big fan of your photographs. Living most of the time in the large, polluted, grey megalopolis of Jakarta, I don’t get to see much green, let alone cascading waterfalls and rivers. Well actually I do see rivers but they are full to the brim with garbage and sewerage. Your photos transport me away from all that. Thank you.

        Like

      • That’s funny because I really enjoy your pictures of Jakarta, and Andrew’s of Hong Kong. I am not at all a city person and don’t desire visiting them but I do enjoy seeing what others photograph….so much neat culture and pageantry.

        I’ll post a little quiet bucolic-tude for your tomorrow on FB.

        Like

  6. First congatulations on 29 years of marriage to a wonderful lady. I have not forgotten what you wrote in one of your comments in my blog how you finally agreed to meet Maty Beth that evening. It is a good thing that she was persistent. I’m wishing you many more years of happiness together.

    Your photography continues to amaze me. The objects or scenes that you find are turned into works of art. The abstract pic is unusual and the monochrome does suit it best. However, I’m not a a fan of abstract. In the first photo, I think the clouds enahanced a bit more and removing some or all of the lily pads would make it oustanding. You want to tweak it but it is already outstanding. I’m not qualified to judge but that is merely the way I would want it to look. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks very much, Yvonne…both for the comment and remembering my story. Believe me, not only do I daily realize how lucky I am but also how lucky I was. 🙂

      I appreciate your comments. It has taken me quite a while to see and attempt abstracts. Just as with monochrome, it is not a natural way of seeing for me and I understand not everyone will like an abstract image. Andrew has asked me to try a different conversion and I will keep your thoughts in mind. 🙂

      Like

      • Thanks for the reply Steve. Yes indeedy 🙂 you are fortunate or lucky if you prefer to call it that. From all appearences you have a good life and are a successul photographer. When you have a happy marriage then you are doubly blessed.

        Now back to the photos. Andrew’s suggestion is the viable one. I think that whatever you choose to do with the photograph will be just as it should be. After all don’t photographers take pictures to please them selves or are you shooting with what the you think the public wants to see? I am speaking for myself here. I take pics mostly of things that I want to have as a record. And of course the animals are my favorites.

        In your case I am 100% sure that you have so many photos that you only look over a a paired down number. I have about 6,000 or more which is not too bad since I picked up a camera again about 2 and 1/2 years ago after 20 years of nothing. The biggest problem I have is deleting photos. 🙂

        Like

      • You have been very prolific in that time, Yvonne. If you have enough storage then there’s no need to delete unless something is really bad. Every once in a while when I am archiving images I find one that could have been deleted a while back but now seems a bit worthy and gets processed and saved. You never know.

        Like

      • Correct again. A 2nd and 3rd look often results in one that I originally thought was terrible. I have put all my photos to an external hard drive which will hold a million or more. Of course I’ll never get to that point but for now I have msot all on my computer.(I made copies) I do have some bad ones though and I need to work on that,. Since I am not really using photoshop I’m not using much space. Now and then I do sepia or monochrome in PS but that is seldom.

        Like

      • Good strategy with the external, Yvonne. It is best practice anyway, but with the computer problems you’ve had lately it is also good insurance.

        Like

  7. Greg Russell says:

    Congrats on the anniversary as well as two fine images, Steve. Each one has their own special qualities, and show off this simple branch quite well. Wasn’t it Dorthea Lange who said (and I’m paraphrasing…liberally), “If you think you are out of ways to compose a subject, you just haven’t tried hard enough.”?

    Like

    • Thank you Greg. I’ve not read anything Dorthea Lange said but I am sure your memory is pretty good…the comment certainly is whether she said it or someone else. And it is definitely good advice for a photographer and why I continually return to the same spot or flower. 🙂

      Like

  8. quabbinite says:

    Happy anniversary. I love the second photo. It actually took me a minute to see that it was reflective! We were just at Harvard Pond yesterday for the first time since last year around this time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

