04.05.2022 Tuesday Teaser

As I continue romping through my archives, I came across these two examples of Lady’s Slipper beauty from 5 years ago.  May is not that far off and it’s about time I paid them another visit.  I photographed one here in the yard two years ago but it didn’t survive and at $60 a pop I won’t be planting another so it’s off to the woods I’ll go.

These are on a Mass Audubon property that was given to the society by the former owner who lovingly cared for the land and made sure it would stay wild by his donation.  In addition to these woodland species, accompanied by Pink Lady’s Slippers, there are other orchids in a swamp although I have yet to visit that.  Maybe this year. Plenty of other plants and attractions.  And my Gravatar doppelganger hangs out there along this trail so maybe he’s still looking good.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 04.05.2022 Tuesday Teaser

  1. krikitarts says:

    Wonderful. We usually only see the pink variety in MN, but we may be arriving too late this year–if our travel plans work out. Here’s hoping.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. picpholio says:

    These are realy twoo top shots of my most favo orchid ! My compliments 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The closeup is yummy. Speaking of which, it could be a stomach or a heart.
    Happy prospective swamp visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Beautiful! My father and I actually went hiking this past weekend looking for the early signs of Lady’s Slippers. Unfortunately, the area where we found them last year was massively damaged over the winter with lots of downed trees, mostly softwoods, and the majority of areas we’d found the flowers are now under debris. But I did find one location that was still open and happened to see about 1/2″ of emerging green that I believe might be a Lady’s Slipper. I hope to keep going back and watching its progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I hope your guess as to the sprout’s identity is correct and you get to see and photograph a lady’s slipper. Plants are pretty persistent in their quest for light so some of the others may fight their way through the debris.

      Like

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful orchids… I’ve only seen the pink in the wild. The yellow would be astonishing to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. melissabluefineart says:

    Oh you are a tease! Visions of May are now dancing in my head… :). How I wish I’d see the pink ones in the wild, but these are really neat as well. Funny how many people are seeing only the pink ones. I agree with Steve as to the yumminess of the closeup. Mmmmmm!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The pink lady’s slippers are what we see here mostly. These are on what used to be private property and I’ve never learned whether the owners who donated the land to Mass Audubon planted them or if they are there naturally. They did a lot of work creating trails so may have planted a lot of what grows there. Thanks, Melissa!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Peter Klopp says:

    Wow! What a remarkable discovery in your archives, Steve! It reminded me to dig in my archives for little treasures among the thousands of photos I collected during my lifetime.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tina says:

    Lady’s slippers is such a sweet common name and the flower is gorgeous! Lovely photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    The closeup reminds me of a wineskin: appropriate, perhaps, given the intoxicating beauty of the image.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Both views are exquisite, Steve.

    Like

  11. Great images Steve! Enjoyed seeing them!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. bluebrightly says:

    Wow, pricey! Good luck in the woods!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment