05.23.2019 Violets

More from the yard…

A Woolly Blue Violet-Viola sororia, this is a white variant which I am very happy to have as a lawn ornament.

The real Woolly Blue


And the Bird Foot-Viola pedata

More to come.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Nature Photography, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 05.23.2019 Violets

  1. It’s good to see your posts once again postmarked from Flowerland.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully and sensitively portrayed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. melissabluefineart says:

    Very nice. I’ve been interested to note that on my block, the purple ones reign on one side while the white ones are on the other. As to the birds-foot~wow! I haven’t the conditions to grow that one, I don’t think. Do you get fritilaries?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tomwhelan says:

    The bird-foot violet image is beautiful, great grouping.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Clearly, my understanding of violets has been limited. These are beautiful, and unlike anything I’ve seen. The Missouri violet (Viola sororia ) was common in Iowa, and it’s here in Texas, too, but the bird-foot raises the bar a bit. I did smile at the white variant of the woolly blue. Those blue veins are exactly the color of old-fashioned mimeograph ink.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess that makes it a good copy.

      I think my liking violets might be rebellion as my mother’s middle name was Violet and she hated it. I never understood hating having a flower as part of one’s name. Those veins are what makes this variation my preferred over the entirely blue one.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I was looking at our Texas violets yesterday, and discovered NE Texas has the Viola bicolor. It has those same lovely veins, although I’m more fond of the blue you show here.

        I’ve never thought about the number of names that include flowers or plants, but there are a lot: Iris, Rose, Daisy, Fern, and Lily come to mind. It’s too bad your mother didn’t like her name, but on the other hand, a lot of people are in the same boat. My mother so hated her first name, Eula, that she refused to use it. As far as I know, it only appeared on her birth and death certificates, and her driver’s license. Probably social security, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s funny, and often unfortunate, the things that irk people. I hate being called Mister or Sir. I understand it’s respectful but for some reason it just bugs me.

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I used to be that way about Ma’am. When I moved to Texas, I felt like I was being Ma’am to death. Now? I like it — especially if it’s a really handsome cowboy who’s tipped his hat and said, “Howdy, Ma’am.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • In these days of less than respectful comments I guess we should be thankful for such replies.

        Like

  6. bluebrightly says:

    I like seeing them close-up and having them identified. I think the Bird’s foot was one my mother especially loved. What a gorgeous color you rendered perfectly, and sweet composition – I love that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment