04.28.2017 Return of the Red Wake Robin

This time while lying on the ground with the Venus Optics Laowa 15mm macro.

AKA Red Trillium-Trillium erectum, this one, and a few others, lived up to the species name by standing erect.  Most often they droop as you see in the two behind, which offers the added bonus of neck cricks.       🙂

The hardest part of using this lens, aside from all manual operation (good thing I am old enough to remember when they were all that way), is keeping the tripod legs which need to be splayed out flat out of the image.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 04.28.2017 Return of the Red Wake Robin

  1. I thought I was going to see a photo of bird. 🙂 But this is even better. It looks maroon to me however the cataracts prevent me from seeing color accurately. The trillium is quite dainty and beautiful. Lovely photo Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. With my very wide angle lenses I have to be careful not to include my feet.

    Maroon seems just the right word for the flower’s color.

    Like you, I learned with all manual camera adjustments. My Pentax Spotmatic was the first camera to have a built-in light meter. All I had to do was play with the aperture and shutter speed until the little needle inside the viewfinder came to rest in a horizontal position. Of course that still didn’t guarantee that I’d gotten the focus right; there was no confirmation for that.

    Like

    • For me Maroon, aside from the meaning given by Bugs Bunny, has a bit more brown to it which I don’t see on my calibrated display. But…WordPress is terrible in my estimation at color control (especially for saturation) so aside from the variety of appearances color can take on various monitors, WP could show anything. I can live with people seeing it as maroon, but here it is definitely reddish purple…or purplish red.
      On my old Canon F-1n, I had a little split circle that would form a perfect circle when correctly focused. I used one of those angle viewers (whose name I can no longer recall) that had a choice of multipliers which fit on the viewfinder to be more precise with focus. Today, 99.5+% of my shots are still manually focused only now with the 5x or 10x magnifiers in LiveView.

      Like

  3. Wonderful shot. Brings back memories of years ago when I first learned to identify Trillium on a Nature Conservancy walk in upstate New York.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the way the leaves on the ground complement the color of the trillium. The color difference between the leaves and the bracts (?) is interesting, too. I think that bright green leaf in the foreground might be a bit brighter because of the light.

    When I got my macro lens, I decided to stick with manual focusing, and I’m glad I did. Over time, it’s gotten easier, and I’ve seen some improvement. I’ve learned to take a couple of pictures first, just to be sure I have the shutter speed, ISO, and etc. right. Then, I set about trying to focus. When it works, like it did here for you, it’s just great.

    Like

    • Yes, although the day was quite overcast, the light was even and from above so the leaf at the angle it is was reflecting more light than the flower. My polarizer helped also with cutting down on the glare so the color is more even and the detail clearer.
      It’s nice to be able to do all that experimenting now with digital and not having to feel you are wasting film. Eventually you will do all at once automatically. The more you do manually…focus, aperture and exposure…the more in control you will be.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Wonderdul flower and the photo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment