04.27.2016 Buffam Falls

The falls is actually upstream a bit from this spot, but I’ve yet to see it overflowing and as waterfallish as this cascade.  The Buffam Falls Conservation Area has several interesting cascades and smaller waterfalls, but this is my favorite. Further down, the brook ends where it joins with Amethyst Brook and nearby the Metacomet-Monadnock Trail passes by.  It’s a very nice location.

Buffam-Falls-Conservation-Area-042515-960

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 04.27.2016 Buffam Falls

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Very nice indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I second that opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the water’s path, and the way the various small cascades seem to alternate directions in the foreground. A couple of the watery swaths remind me of spilling thistle fluff — they seem that light and ethereal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The variety of direction and size is part of what makes this my preferred spot in this location. The silkiness that reminds you of thistle fluff is why I shoot these at slower shutter speeds.

      Like

  4. This is beautiful. The rocks and the old log make this a stunning photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A few days ago I photographed a neighborhood creek and by coincidence there was a similar log lying in it (though farther away).

    On the technical side: what focal length and f/stop did you use to keep all the main features in focus?

    Like

  6. ISO 100 is my default. But sometimes I need to bump it up in dark wooded areas to maintain a semblance of detail in the water’s motion. I try to do the majority of my flower images in the early morning when there is little if any breeze which allows for the lower ISO. Often overcast days allow it as well.

    Like

Leave a comment