02.02.2015 Happy Groundhog Day

I just read where Phil saw his shadow.  Six more weeks of winter.  Last I checked the calendar, it is indeed six more weeks.  I am not sure why they disturb Phil’s winter slumber as they do, poor guy.  He sees his shadow every year anyway…what with all the Klieg Lights they have trained on him for TV.

Anyway, it was definitely winter yesterday and even more so today as we are getting a possible 12″ of snow on top of all we already had.

As a complete change from the warm sunrise color of yesterday, I went to Gunn Falls afterward to see how the falls looked frozen.  I found the details more interesting and will share a couple.  Today’s is what might expect to find from freezing tumbling water.

Gunn-Falls-detail-1-020115-700Web

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 02.02.2015 Happy Groundhog Day

  1. It was our turn yesterday. It snowed all day, and we have about 24″. I heard we’re getting more but right now it is a clear blue sky above a changed and sparkly world. I don’t mind a bit, so long as I don’t have to go out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The yard was quite sparkly this morning when I let Murphy out. No sparkles now. Just drifting snow.

      We won’t get 24″, but combined with last weeks snow we probably have that sitting on the ground. I was just out with the snow blower and, damn that wind, I kept getting it in the face. I’d aim in one direction and the wind would shift back in my direction. grumble, grumble

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Unusual looking waterfalls and something that I can only see in your photos. Gee it looks bitter cold since running water here does not freeze. I thank my lucky stars that we don’t get snow and cold here. Please be careful when out in that weather.

    Like

  3. Jackson says:

    I feel like my winter this year is coming vicariously through your photos, Steve. This one’s definitely a winner!

    Like

    • Thanks, Jackson. As much as I hate the cold, I always look forward to finding the ice abstracts and larger formations. That said, I am looking forward to April. I’ll keep sharing these until then.

      Like

  4. This image makes the perfect companion to the sounds I hear as I write. Howling winds and the clanging of both sets of wind chimes (one on the front porch, the other on the corner of the corn crib). If I look to my left I see swirling snow, a few leaves, and song birds working to land on the feeders (a tough job in such fierce crosswinds). The University was closed today … and I spent a large part of it on the tractor, plowing. The sheep are burning through hay like it’s water. I used to feed one very large bale once per week – last year, when we had 50 or so head out there. This year I’ve only got 26 animals and they’re eating through a bale in about 4-5 days. I’d love to look at the temperature profile for last year and compare it to what’s going on now. We’re supposed to be well below 0 tonight. It looks as though today’s image required those fancy gloves of yours. Are they working up to your high expectations?

    Like

    • There are a couple more in the pipeline, David. I would imagine that the animals are eating a lot to keep the internal fires burning. I don’t have a good memory for these things, but I think last year was relatively cold too. Maybe not quite as cold as this year though.
      Yeah, the gloves are a big help. As i mentioned before, my thumbs get cold but other than that the gloves are making a difference. And even with my thumbs getting cold, it is not nearly as painful as they warm up.
      Below zero here tonight also with wind. Next several nights actually. Ran the snowblower twice so far. Hopefully the morning will just require a scrape with the shovel. The big pita with the snowblower is when the wind changes direction and sends it into your face.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yup … I used to run a snow blower when I was a kid … I remember well the ‘backwash.’ Biggest problem with plowing with the 1520 is getting it started when it’s really cold. I don’t ever seem to be able to remember to plug the block heater in. So, I plug it in and do something else for half and hour and then it starts right up.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Well, I’m a little late for the Groundhog Day party, but here I am. Honestly — your photo looks as though someone set the temperature on the slushy machine too cold, and the party-goers are going to have to wait for that to melt a litle before they get their drinks.

    It was wet, rainy, and cold here today. Well, ok. It was in the 40s. But, there wasn’t about to be any sanding or vanishing happening, so a friend and I went to the movies and then for an early supper at a Greek café. What movie, you ask? Well, we were in the mood for pure fun and pleasantness, so “Paddington” it was. It was a great movie, too. There was mystery, a villain, the triumph of good over evil, and more just plain cute than I’ve seen in some time. There was a good bit of humor, too. I highly recommend it, even for big people.

    Like

    • Seeing a “little people’s” movie makes perfect sense to me, Linda. Two of my favorite movies are “Princess Bride” and “Time Bandits” although the latter seems more for adults. I guess even the former has a lot of adult innuendo.
      I like the slushy comparison. The guests will have quite a long wait.

      Like

Leave a comment