02.03.2015 Frozen Lower Gunn Falls-The Hanging Garden of Ice

Here is what the entire falls looked like.  You can pick out yesterday’s selection and today’s as well.  There are one or two more still to post after today.

Often the mass of ice is not as intricate as this and I am lucky to find one section to highlight.  There is a lot more to the lower falls this year.  The upper looked a little less developed.  But this week is to continue well below freezing, so this weekend might offer some possibilities up there.

Gunn-Falls-detail-2-020115-700Web The part of the frame above and forward to this was not all that interesting and distracted from what I wished to emphasize, so I’ve cropped that out so you can enjoy the various ice features.  I also left this in color to give the cold a little evidence.

But there is a lot going on and that is why I like to select areas that I think can stand on their own like yesterday’s.  Here is another slice of ice.

Gunn-Falls-detail-3-020115-700WebI probably should be posting these in August.  🙂

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 02.03.2015 Frozen Lower Gunn Falls-The Hanging Garden of Ice

  1. Jim in IA says:

    How long are the biggest ones? Last year, we winter hiked a frozen gorge in south central Ohio in Hocking Hills. There were icicles hanging off the walls 6 feet long all over the place. We were careful NOT to walk under them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the slice of ice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andrew says:

    It looks like it is growing (which I suppose it is). Lovely details here Steve. I may have some of my own soon at this rate.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sure evidence of your very cold weather. Nice shots.

    Like

  5. Photo number one is magical. And looks so very cold. I can not fathom how you have the energy to get out in the cold to capture these wonderful images.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If these were the conditions on the first day of winter then it would be difficult, Yvonne. But as with most things, as we get used to it then the cold becomes easier to deal with. The toughest is the wind that pull the warmth right out of you. I sometimes give in if the wind is too strong.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    That second photo is absolutely magical. I like the way it centers and emphasizes what seems to be the entrance into….what? I just can’t get over how beautiful it is.

    This isn’t so beautiful, but it is interesting. There are some photos here from the fire in Brooklyn this past weekend, as well as some historical photos of winter fire-fighting. It’s interesting to see some of the same formations as in your photos in such a different contexxt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for noticing the mystery, Linda. It was on my mind when I composed this.

      I’ve witnessed the experience you linked to twice. When in high school I saw the after effects of a fire in bitter cold at a local old social club around the corner from our school. It was quite impressive, although the devastation left little structure to marvel at. Not so with the second. While I was in college, a building I was in attending class caught fire in the attic. We all got out safely, but the next morning the building was an ice palace similar to your linked images. It was an old brick structure so, although the wood floors and most walls were gutted, the skeleton of the building remained with enormous ice formations.

      Like

    • I, too, see a dark portal into a mysterious world of ice.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your slice of ice strikes me as nice. I’d photograph it in a trice and not think twice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

