10.04.2014 Moody Bridge Road

Slim pickin’s today.  The light and color was nice on Moody Bridge Road in Hadley for about 5 minutes, then the sky closed, turned gray and the light went flat.  I then drove up to Ashfield and Bear Swamp, but by the time I got there it was raining in addition to thick fog.  I hiked a bit, got wet and didn’t see anything that said “take me”.

So here is an image that I grabbed in Hadley while I could.  I crossed half way through a hay field (fortunately it was recently cut) to get to this point with the “sun” rising behind the trees and a bit of color in the sky.  This is a ditch moving through the field.  Last year I fell in and lost a lens cap for my rented Zeiss 21.  This year I was smarter and stayed on this side.  🙂

Moody-Bridge-Road-sunrise-100414-600WebThe rest of today will be spent moving as much as I can to an external, that I just formatted clean, so all will be prepared for the arrival of the Puget on Monday.  Hopefully I won’t be offline too long.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 10.04.2014 Moody Bridge Road

  1. I like this shot very much. I must hurry along with my comments. No electricity since this past Thursday at 6:45 pm when high winds and hail bombarded our town. So glad to have power again.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I find the colour palette rather pleasing Steve. It probably lacks a little something – a Fringed Gentian perhaps – but maybe there is one buried in the ditch with your lens cap 😉

    Like

  3. benrowef64 says:

    Great colour in the sky I haven’t seen that purple for a long time, great shot.

    Like

  4. Had you not had this Hadley picture, you would indeed have been had by Hadley. Good save.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’ve noticed your lavender skies in several photos. If the color is true, and not a function of my monitor, it’s a color I rarely see here. I wonder why that is. Perhaps your higher latitude? I’ll have to look more closely and see if I can spot some here. In the meantime, this is a lovely, unusual view. I like the “fish scale” clouds.

    Like

    • I can’t explain why the various colors display themselves under different conditions, Linda. We do get lavender skies, although I think the tendencies of my camera’s sensor may have a little to do with that as well as my choices in processing.
      I believe the clouds are described as “Mackerel”.

      Like

  6. Another real beauty to add to your recent streak! Good luck with the new machine! I’m sure you’ll be up and running in no time at all. D

    Like

  7. Always best to stay out of ditches, I have found. 🙂 This terrain reminds me of a place I go, only under duress, because it is creased with swales from the glacier, that are hidden by tall sharp vegetation. AAAARGH!

    Like

  8. Pingback: 09.14.2019 Spider Saturday with a Purple Sky | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a comment