10.5.2014 Quietude

Here is a little peace and quiet from this morning at the Quabbin Reservoir.  It was a bit breezy, so I did a long exposure of 13 seconds with a six-stop neutral density filter to give the water a nice smooth effect.

Sunrise-Gate-5-100514-600Web

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 10.5.2014 Quietude

  1. An etude of serenity, Steve.

    Like

  2. Very nice indeed. You really are on a hot streak, aren’t you? I’m envious! Such productivity. D

    Like

    • Thanks. I’d like to think I can keep this up for a while. I just need the weather to cooperate. We’re due for some rain tomorrow, but I hope not until the afternoon or evening. I think I can forget about photographing either the full moon or the eclipse. 😦

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    I shall add ‘étude’ to my repertoire. The long exposure is perfect here. The clouds over the horizon create a very fine effect. Subtle gradations and a millpond surface to the water.

    Like

  4. Faith says:

    Another beauty! Can’t tell you how much I look forward to your daily posts & the beauty you choose to share. I’m working at seeing rather than just looking at all that surrounds us & trust that someday I may develop some semblance of ability to capture that which is there for the taking. Looked out the window at 4:00 AM today, knowing it was supposed to be a sunny day& thought of trying to catch some daybreak at Quabbin but my bed kept beckoning so I retreated for a couple more hours!! Lost my chance – but knew you would have something special for us. Thanks Steve.

    Like

    • I am glad that you are enjoying these, Faith. I am not sure I can keep up this daily posting, but I’ll try.
      Seeing rather than looking is essential and it is good that you are practicing. Learning to eliminate the non-essential is another thing to practice.
      I had a comment on Facebook from a local photographer who stayed in bed yesterday also. I wish I could some days. Even when I stay up late, I still wake at or about 4 a.m. and am just not good at getting back in bed and sleeping.

      Like

  5. Beautiful scene that is peaceful with lovely muted tones. The various layers that go across the photo from, top to bottom make this scene very different.

    Like

  6. Lyle Krahn says:

    There’s a new word for me and the photo explains it so eloquently! I will need to add it to the repertoire.

    Like

  7. Speaking of ‘tude: from your frequent references to this place, I’d say that for you quietude could be called Quabbitude.

    Like

Leave a Reply

