07.01.2014 A good deed rewarded

This morning I did the towels in the laundry for Mary Beth.  OK, not the biggest good deed ever, but it is good.   When I carried the towels out to the line I saw this first bunny image.  I didn’t realize there were two until afterwards.  This was handheld so it isn’t quite as sharp as I would like, but it is the only nursing bunny image I have.Nursing-Bunnies-070114-600WebEven at ISO 640 and f/5.6, I could only get 1/30 sec and I am a bit of a shaky guy, so a little movement here.  They lie on their backs!!!    😎

I ran back in to get my tripod, but breakfast was over.Bunnies-070114-600WebMom’s ears tell of a few narrow escapes, but the young ‘uns are looking good.  We’ve had a few down years, but the cottontail crop for 2014 is looking good.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 07.01.2014 A good deed rewarded

  1. Andrew says:

    These are lovely shots Steve, wobbly or not. Rag, Tag & Bobtail would be welcome here anytime. Your good deed was clearly recognised on high.

    Like

    • Thanks, Andrew. If it indeed was recognized, then I should have had my tripod for the feeding. I am very happy to have seen the remarkable, but the file itself is too soft to do much more than share in small size on the internet.

      Like

  2. Jim in IA says:

    We have seen several young rabbits during our walks. Never have we seen them nursing. Nice capture.

    I walked past the neighborhood pond Monday where two Canada geese have been raising their 7 young. As I approached, they all slowly got up, gently slid into the water 1 by 1, then moved across in slow single file. Of course, I didn’t have my camera. 😦 But, it was a memorable sight.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jim. This was a first for me too. I doubt it happens in the open very much. I guess we have earned their trust, but there are predators around like coyotes, foxes, hawks and owls….not to mention our neighbors’ cats… so it was quite a surprise.

      Last week when I was photographing at Tully Lake, I had two double families of Canada Geese walk past me and into the water. It was interesting to me that there were four adults and quite a few goslings in both groups.

      Like

  3. It’s pretty great when you are granted a glimpse of wildlife living their lives, isn’t it? I have rabbits in my garden this year for the first time in quite awhile. We had hawks cleaning them out and, I imagine, foxes and coyotes. I get anxious when I see my prized plants moving (!) but then the bunny hops out and is way too cute to chase away. 🙂
    You’re photo is really something~ full of the spontaneity of life.

    Like

    • Thanks, Melissa. We have a fence around the crops so the rabbits don’t get in there, although a woodchuck has burrowed in but, as of yet, has caused no harm. The rabbits live in our flower gardens which tend to be thick with more than flowers and give them a fair amount of protection from being seen. Murphy can smell them though and it is good that we put up a fence years ago to keep our dogs away from the flowers. It’s only along the side where Murphy’s run keeps him so open ended for the bunnies.

      Like

  4. Steve, those are much more becoming than my three concrete rabbits, although your bunnies probably move around a lot more. Next time you see ’em be sure to tell ’em to eat plenty of veggies and watch out for dogs.

    Like

    • We have a concrete rabbit too, Eb. It needs a paint job right now so is just concrete color again. The rabbits are quite healthy chowing down on the plantains and other non-grassy plants we allow in our lawn. They keep the grass trimmed but not enough to avoid mowing.

      Like

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    It’s nice to hear nothing distracted you from hanging the laundry. Wait a minute you got the great photos! Well done.

    Like

  6. Nice photos of this sweet moment.

    Like

  7. I’d give my “eye-teeth” to see a baby rabbit gets its morning breakfast. I think that is one of your best shots, ever. I’m not able to see if your image is blurred. I think it’s a grand capture.

    Like

  8. Really special. I am amazed at what you were able to get with so little set-up time…I suppose it was really point and shoot, then the moment was gone.

    Like

    • It was definitely point and shoot for the nursing shot. The young pair did sit still long enough that I was able to set up the tripod and get some sharp images of them. The feeding shot was the prize, but the bunnies are sweet and I am happy to have them as well. Thanks!

      Like

  9. If only it had been a bit more sunny
    Then you’d have taken back a sharper bunny.

    When we cam home a few nights ago a fawn was curled up against the base of a tree on the front lawn. There was way too little light for a non-flash picture, so that was one of those images that got away. By morning the fawn had gone away too. At least you got that first image, even if not as sharp as you wanted.

    Like

    • Well-rhymed, Steve.
      At least the image will be on the web for enjoyment. As nice as it is to get pictures, the experience is the real reason I am out in nature and the photograph is the icing. As true as that is, not getting the image, or the best image, is disappointing.

      Like

  10. drawandshoot says:

    That’s pretty cool! Very sweet.

    Like

  11. You mean you don’t carry your tripod with you everywhere you go Steve !!! Just kidding great shot of a cool moment !!

    Like

  12. shoreacres says:

    I noticed the mama’s ear and wondered about it. Thanks for adding the information about that in the narrative. Imperfect though you may think it,the photo’s heartwarming and beautiful. I’m so glad I came over to begin exploring.

    Like

    • Thank you, Linda. I appreciate the visit and comments. She must have seen a few tough moments as her face appears to be missing some hair as well but maybe it is old age. I haven’t seen her since this day, but hope that she and her bunnies fare well. They grow so fast that I am sure it will not be possible to recognize them as the ones.

      Like

  13. Mark says:

    Such a great opportunity Steve – I am glad you got to experience it and come away with some cute images to boot!

    Like

    • Thanks, MArk. It is all about the experience first and foremost so I am happy to have witnessed the nursing. As a side note…..I tried PSCC’s vaunted Shake Reduction filter and “meh”…..at least on this image.

      Like

Leave a comment