07.03.2014 Common St. Johnswort

This morning followed a heavy rain, so I wasn’t expecting too much.  Most of the plants were bent over and looking generally bedraggled.  But a few stood up to the weather and one was Common St. Johnswort (Hypericum perforatum) which appears to be the only alien of the several St. Johnsworts we see.

Yellows are tough colors, but an overcast day sure helps. An overcast day is almost always preferable in flower photography.  And getting to the plant early in flowering is a help as well.  Once this bloom fades, it persists for a while as a brown dried out mass which makes the plant less lovely.  They are most often found along roadsides and in waste areas and are notably brown and unattractive from a distance.

So, without further ado, here is my post of this lovely flower.  I did get it with the first bud to bloom.  Common-St.-Johnswort-070314-800FBI did a shot of this flower in similar composition and light a few years back which is now hanging on the wall in my exhibit. http://stephengingoldphoto.photoshelter.com/gallery-image/Flora/G0000J7rraELfG3M/I0000jwodVXwkhB8

One of my first wildflower images was this plant.  That was many years ago and as much as I liked the shot, it was a beginner’s effort (full bright sunlight and a few spent blooms) and has not stood the test of time.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.03.2014 Common St. Johnswort

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    St John’s Wort, well I never. What a gorgeous plant and what extraordinary colours. I used to take a tincture of SJW’s as a ‘pick me up’ but just looking at your photos, always cheers me. Great photograph, Steve.

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Like Lottie I know SJW as a ‘tonic’ or anti-depressant. I think this photo would serve just as well. And yes, yellows are very difficult 😦

    Like

  3. Yellow: corn, butter, and the sun. Sometimes I think it’s my favorite color, but like you I’ve had my struggles to make yellow flowers look good in photographs, especially in bright sunlight. I always shoot in RAW mode, and Adobe Camera Raw usually lets me reclaim enough detail to make unusually bright areas acceptable.

    Like

    • ACR is an image saver for sure. I often will do a spot reading on the yellow and expose based on that. It’s the technique I use on moving water to keep the whites from blowing out and it seems to help with yellows too. The only time I shoot a jpeg is if I want to get the image right into an email and that’s almost always with my S95, which shoots both, or my iPhone.

      Like

  4. Mellow yellows. Love em!

    Like

  5. ~wonderful composition! I’ve struggled with yellows in the field too. Wish I could go out in the field with you guys sometime and learn directly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

