05.14.2014 Marsh Marigolds

Last Friday I went to my favorite spot for Marsh Marigold (Caltha palustris) which, as you might guess, is in the buttercup family.  The flower…not the princess. 🙂  They are on both sides of the road, but the west side is a shallow pond with a bed of mud and muck, so I could only venture so far in but did get a shot of the largest group.Marsh-Marigold-Patch-050914-900WebI am sure there are larger communities of them, but not bad.  I’ve tried working in there and it is frustrating and doesn’t offer good backgrounds.

But across the road is the better spot for working individual plants and here are two images  that I made while trying not to let the mid-shin deep muck act like quicksand. A nice full frame

Marsh-Marigold-2a-050914-900WebAnd a trio of buttery blooms.Marsh-Marigold-3-050914-900WebI did manage to maneuver around but the murky mess tried its best to suck my boots right off my feet as I stepped in the glop.  I’ve tried to come up with more words for muck, but it just fits the stuff quite well.  And to show that I am growing wiser, here is one from a few years back that I shot while on my knees.Marsh-Marigold-Closeup-Profile-050111-BlogThis will have to do for a lifetime of Marsh Marigold side close ups. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 05.14.2014 Marsh Marigolds

  1. Very nice photos of this springflower.

    Like

  2. They call them “mellow, yellow.” This set of photos are simply gorgeous. The first photo is especially good. The composition if perfect. I’ve never seen this plant in a book or otherwise- at least not that I can remember, These are all “eye catching.”

    Like

  3. Lottie Nevin says:

    Buttery blooms indeed! When I was a kid I had some picture books by Racy Helps which I loved. Lots of animals, and plants. Marsh marigolds where often a feature of her illustrations, your post today reminded me of those books and my youth! Lovely pictures, Steve.

    Like

    • Thanks. Lottie. I am so glad that these pictures were reminders for you. When I post, I often wonder if there is any use besides putting a pretty picture out there. It’s nice to know that once in a while they offer something of use.
      I just Googled him and, WOW, what great illustrations. They must have been so much fun to read and imagine. 🙂

      Like

      • Lottie Nevin says:

        Ah, I’m so glad that you googled Racy Helps. Sweet illustrations and your marsh marigolds instantly reminded me of the books. Oh to be a child again! Your photographs are ALWAYS of use, the certainly get me thinking. Thanks again, Steve.

        Like

  4. These pictures look successful to me, so I’m glad to see you didn’t muck up your opportunity.

    Like

  5. Just Rod says:

    Very good to have your photos of the Marsh Marigolds. I was out near the swampy area by the cottage yesterday and Marsh Marigolds are our first wild flowers to appear. I wasn’t wearing proper shoes (and mo tripod, doh!) so I couldn’t get any decent photographs. It is so heartwarming to see the bright yellows among all the greenery after the whites and greys of winter.
    These are excellent images of such an unassuming plant.

    Like

    • I agree, Rod. These yellows really say Spring. After this past winter, even more than usual, I was so eager for our Spring blooms and the Marsh Marigolds did not disappoint.
      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

