05.09.2014 Wild Oats

Today started rather dreary with a steady mist but at least the wind was quiet for a while.  I checked a path where I find a few different wildflowers not too far from home and the Wild Oats, aka Sessile Bellwort aka Uvularia sessilifolia were doing quite well.  I got out my rolled up carpet sample and lay down on my side next to the plant.  I added two extension tubes allowing me to get pretty close to the flower with my 180 macro lens also helping to blur the background. Wild-Oats-050914-600WebLook ma…no ticks.  I was shocked after lying on the ground and crawling around to arrive home tickless. No complaints. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.09.2014 Wild Oats

  1. Lottie Nevin says:

    You really are a genius photographer, no seriously you are. I went out yesterday morning to take photographs of wild flowers and none of them are even a fraction as wonderful as yours. The clarity you get is perfect, absolute magic. Thank you Steve for sharing with us, your incredible gift.

    Like

  2. benrowef64 says:

    Really great, so sharp and such a nice blurred background. Good shot.

    Like

  3. You really did great work with this flower, Stephen.

    Like

  4. Andrew says:

    This is a belter, Steve. I never knew that a rolled up carpet could take such good pictures if you attach an extension tube. Truly a magic carpet.

    Like

  5. This is an outstanding photo in my book. Worthy of framing and hanging. The wild oats were sowed while utilizing the magic carpet or something to that effect. 🙂 I think the piece of carpet might be just the thing to keep you tick free. I really like this photograph.

    Like

    • That’s funny, Yvonne. I was going to name this post “Sowing my wild oats.”
      Thanks for enjoying this. The carpet will certainly help with the ticks when I am on my knees, but that little nasties will still hop on me as I walk through the tall grass….once it gets tall, that is.

      Like

  6. Prepared as you are with something that lets you lie close to the plants, your excellent photographs become almost auto-mat-ic.

    Like

  7. Mark says:

    Very nice composition Steve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

