05.06.2014 Not so Early Saxifrage

Everything flora seems to be a few weeks or even a month behind this year.  That was the case with Saxifraga virginiensis.  I’ve visited the ledges where I enjoy Early Saxifrage three times this Spring and finally found them in full bloom last Saturday.  Mid-March is generally about right , so just a little tardy.Early-Saxifrage-050314-900WebEarly-Saxifrage-050314-600WebAnd one from a time long, long ago.

Early-Saxifrage-2,600WebThat’s it for now.  I’m a bit tired and short a pint of blood.  But in return I got a bottle of juice, two oatmeal cookies and two cards…one for a free car wash and one for $5 worth of gas.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 05.06.2014 Not so Early Saxifrage

  1. So you were “bled” and just think of all the goodies you received. The 5 dollars of gas might get you out of town but on the other hand if you drive a fuel efficient vehicle…. Just joking here. But good for you for donating the blood. It is always very much needed.

    But on to the crux of the matter. The wild saxifrage is beautiful. I can’t tell if that is maidenhair fern as its companion plant. It all looks like a wonderful product of nature.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne. It’s not a maidenhair fern. I am pretty sure it is a spleenwort, possibly a maidenhair spleenwort (different from the plain ol’ maidenhair fern) but also possibly an ebony spleenwort…I have to go back when the leaflets are carrying their spores.

      Like

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    Good for you for donating blood. wow they are much more generous than in the UK. You only get given a cup of tea and a biscuit there, no petrol and car washes.

    It’s early morning here and I’m only just waking up, when I first read your post I thought that it said ‘Early sacrilege’ and I wondered what on earth it must be about….I NEED SPECS!
    Your ‘early sacrileges’ are very beautiful specimens. I remember the year that my youngest was born, 1996, we’d had a very long winter and spring came very late, at least 6 weeks later than normal.

    I wish that you could visit my part of the world. I’d love to see what you would make of it. The wildflowers are growing everywhere now, many of them unfamiliar to me which makes it even more exciting 😀

    Like

    • When I was a kid and too young to donate, they used to give you a steak dinner to rebuild the blood. 🙂 Not any more. 🙂
      I am sometimes quite sacrilegious so not too far off the mark, Lottie. 😀

      I’d love to visit you and Pete and so many other parts of the world, but most likely it will never be in the cards. As beautiful as are most parts of the world, I will probably live out my days with my travels limited to how far I can drive in a day.
      Absolutely, it is so exciting to discover a new to you wildflower. I get quite excited.

      Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Congrats on the saxifrages and the blood donation. A pint? That’s very nearly an armful (Tony Hancock).

    Like

  4. The word saxifrage means ‘breaks stone,’ and the plants in your first picture seem to be growing out of a rock ledge. Whether the roots will break up the rocks, I don’t know.

    Like

    • That’s exactly where they are growing, Steve. The ledges are sedimentary and easily crumble or just plain fall apart…especially during the freeze. Most are covered with moss, but there are lots of slabs lying around the location.

      Like

  5. Oh of course, “breaks stone” makes sense~ I didn’t know that is what it meant. Lovely photos. Were you leaning out over a cliff?
    Spring is almost 2 months late here, as well. It fascinates me how plants and animals respond to weather.
    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go to work on an egg… 🙂

    Like

    • No, I was just standing in front of the ledges, Melissa. Quite handy and easy to work with. Our plants are starting to catch up, but they will also be accelerated in their development before the trees leaf out.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the video. I like British humor and Andrew is always a good source for new programs.

      Like

  6. Beautiful work Steve, I absolutely love the last isolated close up shot !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

