06.24.2023 Pollinator Week-Skipper Saturday

By far, the skipper I see most often in the yard is the Peck’s Skipper-Polites peckius.

I’ve never caught one with its wings flat.  Most often they only partially open them.

One day to go in Pollinator Week.  Not sure who’s going to show up tomorrow.  Quiet day today here photographically as we are getting some nice steady relatively gentle rain which should be great for the gardens.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 06.24.2023 Pollinator Week-Skipper Saturday

  1. Beautiful images of this Skipper, Steve! I hope tomorrow brings you another wonderful pollinating find!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pen(n)sive says:

    A beautifully clear capture Steve, …the wings look like brown/cream patterned velvet, …✨Penn✨

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Penn! Although the butterfly’s body, and all Lepidoptera for that matter, is covered with scales they are nice soft ones unlike those on reptiles. I don’t touch them but I bet velvety is an apt description.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    The details on skippers are so interesting. I’ve never noticed the kind of hair clusters that extend from the base of this one’s wings. Your photo caught them wonderfully well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope this doesn’t make you Peck’s Bad Boy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love it’s graceful pose on the leaf. Both wonderful photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ann Mackay says:

    Wonderfully detailed and lets us get a really good look at this butterfly. (We get the Essex Skipper here, but I’ve never seen one in such detail.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Todd Henson says:

    Nice. I have such a difficult time telling one skipper species from another, but I enjoy them all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment