04.15.2022 Fog Friday-Fog on Fire

Giving the archival frogs a break.  Hopefully there will some new froggy heads bobbing up in the ponds soon. But fog is good too and my favorite landscape condition.

Some days the valleys catch the light before the rest of the landscape and at sunrise it glows with the warm light.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 04.15.2022 Fog Friday-Fog on Fire

  1. Tina says:

    The image that popped into my head upon reading that title was…concerning. My head translated ‘fog’ to ‘frog’ (Frog Friday, after all!). Glad to see that it was just a gorgeous fog-on-fire, rather than a terrifying ‘frog-on-fire’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a great combination of fog and warm light.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ms. Liz says:

    Lovely and dramatic.. wonderful photo, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. krikitarts says:

    I’d have loved to have been there to see that. Thanks to your eye, I almost was.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    The painterly quality is obvious. It reminded me of some Hudson Valley artists. It’s interesting that British and American landscapes often seem to me to differ, even when the subjects are similar. I suspect the quality of the light — as in this photo — is the reason.

    (ps: have you checked your email? I’m off to our equivalent of a high-class waffle house this morning!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ve mentioned often that any time one of my images is compared to a painting from the Hudson River artists I am, as some of my British friends would say, quite chuffed.I think the light is different in Europe from what we see here. So many images I see from Tuscany, say, have such a soft ethereal quality to them. That does happen here but not as often I think. Of course the landscapes in Europe and those here differ quite a bit.
      I hope you enjoyed the waffles. I am not sure if my last email got to you where I pasted my original response.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Peter Klopp says:

    Fog on Fire is a fitting title to describe the glory of a foggy sunrise. Great shot, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. May you have fog whenever you want it. This is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Todd Henson says:

    I absolutely love these scenes when fog or mist seem lit on fire. I recall seeing some photos of Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge in New Mexico where the morning mist was on fire. I went to my first year of college right near there but unfortunately didn’t have a DSLR at the time, and we only drove through the refuge once so I never saw the fire mist in person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s too bad you didn’t have a camera at the time but mostly we are out in nature for the experience and that one obviously left a lasting impression for you. I don’t see this very often here so it was certainly a treat.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow Steve! Love the warm colors in your Fog image!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That’s a WOW … I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment