06.26.2021 Water Arum

AKA Wild Calla-Calla palustris.  As the name suggests, these are found in water or very wet conditions, such as the little roadside brook where I spotted this one while searching for woodland wildflowers in Northern Maine a few years back.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Maine, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 06.26.2021 Water Arum

  1. Quirks of the imagination: this brought to mind the old TWA terminal at New York’s Idlewild (now Kennedy) Airport: https://www.flickr.com/photos/wallyg/6293719768

    Liked by 2 people

  2. susurrus says:

    The flower looks very leaf-like viewed this way.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    I like the water arum. The shape of the giant leaves looks like they have been designed to collect water. Great shot, Steve!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. shoreacres says:

    The spathe and the photos I saw of its red berries reminded me of Jack-in-the-Pulpit. It took me a few minutes to realize why ‘arum’ seemed so familiar. The so-called ‘corpse flower’ is Titan arum, and despite the obvious size difference, there are similarities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes there is a resemblance. One thing missing though is the powerful scent. I have not visited these while in fruit but should to complete the picture. We had a few Jack-in-the-pulpits here in the yard but they did not come back last year or this.

      Like

  5. Very Nice Steve! Really stands out against the dark background!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bluebrightly says:

    Thanks for posting! I didn’t know this plant existed – it’s quite a beauty, especially in your hands. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A very elegant looking plant! I like the dark background with a hint of the grass.

    Like

Leave a comment