12.30.2020 Wordless Wednesday-Icefungifiedstickcicles

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 12.30.2020 Wordless Wednesday-Icefungifiedstickcicles

  1. Littlesundog says:

    Those are some strange icicles! I agree with Steve – elephant leg-looking for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see a lot of icicles similar to these. I guess the moisture from the stream collects above and then drips down causing a somewhat larger mass at the bottom. These are nice but I sometimes find some really cool ones with interesting shapes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd Henson says:

    I much prefer the view of those being elephant legs. My first thought was snotsickles. Apologies for the unpleasant imagery. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adele Brand says:

    They are a weird shape (elephantine, yes!) but I’m also wondering what strangeness made them form like that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it is a combination of things. As Eliza mentions below, water level certainly plays a part, but I think the amount of moisture in the air above the water freezes on contact as well. I’ve tried finding some science on this but haven’t found much.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    They do look a bit like horse hooves. I think their formation is based on a drop in water level?
    I saw lots of cool icicles today along the brook across the road. No camera with me though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s a combination, Eliza. The water in this little stream never rises high enough to hit that fallen branch so it forms in another way before hitting the surface. I guess some might travel across the branch before dropping and freezing at the bottom. I guess this might be a good use for a trail cam. If I had my own brook I’d lay a stick across the water and watch it a few times a day to see what happens. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. krikitarts says:

    I find it wonderful how the smooth, bulbous lower ends catch and refract the light, so that they seem to glow from within.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment