08.14.2020 Flashback Friday

I was reminded this morning of this nice experience from a few years ago.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 08.14.2020 Flashback Friday

  1. krikitarts says:

    A mellow and moody memory of morning mist. Magic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhhh cmon! What’s not to love about this shot! Beautiful work, Steve! πŸ™

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I know better than to wish away the present, but I’ll be glad when August gives way to September and beyond. This captures so well the serenity of autumn — as well as the alertness of that handsome animal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Life sure does go by fast enough but I agree. August can get the heck out of here…actually all of 2020 can show itself the door.
      I’ve had one other close encounter like this with a deer but failed to get the camera up in time. I was lucky that I had just the right lens on at just the right moment and turned around. There are quite a few deer in Quabbin Park, as well as all over the watershed, so they are used to seeing people but the instincts still kick in. I managed two frames before he had enough of me.

      Like

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Ah, that captures a beautiful moment. After watching you, did the deer go back about its business, or did it run off? I’ve had both happen, but most often they seem to run off just after I notice them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice Steve! Great image!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Did you also manage to get any closer?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ann Mackay says:

    Beautiful and gives a special feeling of connection with the beautiful animal gazing at you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Maria says:

    This is visual poetry at its best, no words needed!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. M.B. Henry says:

    What a perfect shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Minna says:

    I love misty mornings and your shot of it is perfect!

    Like

  11. Littlesundog says:

    Now you know I am a big fan of the deer… you captured the perfect morning image! Nicely done, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You certainly have your misty moments there, Steve. Beautiful work.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. bluebrightly says:

    That was a very lucky morning! The image is perfection. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. It was lucky indeed. I don’t have too many wildlife encounters despite the time I spend out there so this was exciting as well. Most often the deer I see bolt almost as soon as I see them. Survival instinct as they are hunted even in the watershed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bluebrightly says:

        They do learn! There’s no hunting here – the island is too small – so the deer are overly tame, like in NY suburbs. It was good of this fellow to pose just the right distance from the tree, for a balanced composition. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment