12.11.2015 Foggy Goodness

We’ve had a couple of foggy starts to our days recently and this morning was another.  It has actually stayed foggy in spots all day although there is a hint of sunshine as a chaser.  I’ve been thinking of this tree for a while and today seemed to be the right time.

Hanks-Meadow-Tree-in-Fog-121115-700webHanks Meadow, Quabbin

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 12.11.2015 Foggy Goodness

  1. Andrew says:

    It’s like a negative of a ice impression or maybe a foliose lichen. Beautiful Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Foggy goodness~ well put 🙂
    Is this an ash?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    I was surprised by the number of broken branches I saw in the enlargements. I wonder if the space on the left is evidence of the loss of a larger limb. it’s such a lovely tree — the fine limbs/branches almost look feathery.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If it is from a loss, it would be an old one as the tree looks pretty solid. They do sometime grow a little asymmetric if a twig was broken early on. I think trees are lovely at all times, but leafless really lets their structure show itself off well. Seen like this, it reminds of the patterns water makes in sand as it flows. It’s curious how the many tributaries that make up a stream can be recreated as the stream flows out onto the beach or delta plain.

      Like

  4. I’d love a day that stayed foggy so I could go out and play (photographically).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can certainly see why this tree was on your mind, it’s gorgeous! I love the shape of it and all those beautiful branches. The detail in this image is amazing, including those wispy trees in the background. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: 12.28.2015 And now for something completely different | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  7. By the way: have you ever experimented with pushing the Clarity slider way to the left to create a foggy effect in a picture that doesn’t have any real fog?

    Like

    • Yes and no, Steve. I have done left slides with clarity, but not to create fog. I’ll enhance it that way or also build a bit more softness in areas combined with the gradient n.d. tool in ACR.

      Like

Leave a comment