04.17.2012 The stigma of Bloodroot.

Not a lot to say about this image…so a little fun with a word of more than one meaning.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 04.17.2012 The stigma of Bloodroot.

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Beautiful. I think this pretty flower needs a prettier name. Haven’t seen any bloodroot in the garden (yet).

    Like

    • And thus the stigma. 🙂 Thanks Tracy. I think you are in Tom W’s neck of the woods? so you should see them soon. Especially after this heat we’ve had. I know he just posted some fine images of these.

      Like

      • milkayphoto says:

        I’m more east and slightly north of Tom (he in the Lexington Area, I in Beverly). Tom hasn’t seen bloodroot in his yard, either, but found a small patch somewhere. There’s still time, though, but wonder if the hot temps have stunted this particular bloom.

        Like

      • I hadn’t spoken with him, so just assumed. My bad. I think the lack of rain is problematic. The patches of most wildflowers I see have wilted leaves and the petals fall off if you sigh near them. Probably a combination of the two.

        Like

  2. Greg Russell says:

    Really lovely image Steve! I kinda like the name…to me, it makes the flower even more elegant.

    Like

    • Thanks Greg. I’ve always liked having fun with words that can be taken in various ways and “stigma” has been right up there any time I thought about flower parts. I’m glad you enjoyed the double entendre.

      Like

Leave a comment