08.06.2021 Frog Noir Friday

Mike Powell posted a nice frog shot on FB and I am sure it will be on his blog soon.  I figured I should follow his lead and post another Frog Friday. B&W is a little different and I think the reflection in his eye is a little better in monochrome.

This is from the archives.  I remember making this image of the bullfrog in a mud puddle which meant I had to kneel in mud as well. When I first composed it I did not realize there was a mosquito taking his blood.  I am not positive it is a him but the tympanum is just a bit larger than the eye so I am going with that. It doesn’t seem that long ago but this is from 2013. I’ve complained enough about how fast time is passing by so will leave it at that.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Animal Behavior, Closeup Photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 08.06.2021 Frog Noir Friday

  1. This is a rather serious-looking frog, in a reflective mood I guess. I hope he notices the mosquito and grabs it with his tongue.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. picpholio says:

    The B&W choise gives a lot of character to the image.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard of film noir and now you’ve gotten into frog noir.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Nice shot, Steve. Mosquitoes make me shudder! So pesky these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bluebrightly says:

    Frog Noir – I love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gallivanta says:

    I hope the mosquito ended up as frog dinner, although that hope is a bit noir, as the frog would not only be eating the mosquito but some of itself as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very nice Steve! Always enjoy your frog images!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ann Mackay says:

    That mosquito is a little chancer – one flick of the tongue and it’s a goner!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shoreacres says:

    Anything that eats mosquitos is a friend of mine. I’ve seen amazing videos of fast frog tongues. I think it would have to be pure luck (combined with burst shooting) to capture that. It occurs to me that the mosquito probably shows up better in black and white than in color — yes?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel the same way about possums and ticks. And of course I am happy to know of locals eating mosquitoes so bring on the bats too.
      Yes, it does which was also part of the decision making process. But the feel of the image as a whole benefits.
      I have caught a few bullfrog “burps” with bursts and one does have a slight advance notice unlike a tongue strike. Video would be the way to go.

      Like

  10. Somehow, Steve, fantastic in BW!! I’m not a frog fan so, this is a huuuuuge compliment! 🤣🙏📷 Splendid!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some images surprise for their working well in B&W, Rob. I’ve done a few flower images that are known for their beautiful color but still worked converted. They make nice side by side comparisons. How can you not like frogs??? 🙂 I am glad that you like this one. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment