07.16.2021 Frog Friday

I had already captured a few bullfrog images and decided it was time to start my errands and yard chores at home when I noticed this little frog between the lily pads.  I am impressed as it was small and at a distance…this is shot at 800mm and cropped about 50%…that I saw it at all. Guess my glasses prescription is right on.

American Bullfrog-female-Lithobates catesbianus

I notice that the image is no longer available at full size by clicking.  WP always messing with things.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Animal Behavior, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 07.16.2021 Frog Friday

  1. Ms. Liz says:

    Well spotted Steve, really sweet capture! When coming in via WP Reader I can click on the image and get a bigger one on an attachment page – and then when I click on that image – I can view the full image. Which is well worth doing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I saw that also, Liz. I am not sure what is different on my platform but it is a change from a few days ago. Not enough to cause me to run to the “Happiness Engineers” and they actually have never made me happy.
      I am glad you enjoyed this little “Happiness Engenderer”. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Littlesundog says:

    What a sweet hangout for this little lady! Thank you for giving me the Frog Friday fix that I look forward to each week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I did see this little sweetheart I knew you’d enjoy her, Lori. 🙂 I’ve a few more and hopefully will capture others so there will be a string of FF’s to come. I’ll have to bank a couple so we’ll have some for winter also. One of these days I’ll add a frog gallery to my website. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I went back and clicked your picture again. In the window that came up with the larger view I noticed something I’d missed before: in the bottom right there’s a circle with the letter i in it. When I clicked that circle a bar was revealed across the bottom of the window. It included this text:

        Bullfrog-female-under-lily-pad-071121-1200
        COPYRIGHT
        © stephengingold all rights reserved
        View full size 1469×1200

        When I clicked that last line the bar at the bottom went away again and I was back to a large image surrounded completely by black.

        Like

      • Thanks. I just noticed it as well…see comment to Bob above. I saw it as an exclamation point but “I” for info I guess is more correct.

        Like

  3. At my end, clicking your picture does bring up a larger version. That second version isn’t further click-enlargeable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, I got a full-size image on second click as always. Anyway, it’s a really nice image, and reminds me of Kermit’s song, “It’s Not Easy Being Green.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bob. The fact that everyone else is still able to second click it made me look a little closer. What has changed, at least at my end, is I now have a little exclamation point in a circle and if I click that I have the option available for a larger view to click. So now it is three clicks. Always improving…I guess.

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    It’s a frog sandwich: a frogwich! It’s a great image, and it’s even better full-sized. When I clicked on it, I got a much larger image that really shows the details.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Peter Klopp says:

    What a wonderful hiding place for the frog playing peekaboo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure whether it is a female thing or not, Peter. I’ve only seen this the one time and most all the bullfrogs I do see are males. It may be possible that more hide like this and I don’t see them.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jet Eliot says:

    I have a smile on my face, Steve, enjoying this whimsical photo. I love your Frog Fridays.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Eliza Waters says:

    A perfect little canopy for keeping cool on a hot day. Great shot, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I like how it is in between the lily pads … sweet capture!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Gallivanta says:

    She looks well-cushioned and well-covered and at ease. Linda’s great comment about a frogwich reminded me of The Tale of Jeremy Fisher by Beatrix Potter. Jeremy, in the course of his unsuccessful fishing trip, eats a butterfly sandwich. Then, at the end of the day, he prepares roasted grasshopper with ladybird sauce.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very Nice Steve! Brings back memories of my pond at our old home.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. bluebrightly says:

    One of the best!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment