09.22.2017 Heron on a snag

As promised, here is another shot of the preening heron a bit later as the fog began to dissipate..

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Animal Behavior, Fauna, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 09.22.2017 Heron on a snag

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Beautiful image. The heron and the tree are in almost perfect harmony.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the color, but there are other details that delight. The heron’s feathers mimic the pattern of the bark, and the branch going off to the left, with the chunk missing near the end, looks remarkably like the heron’s foot. It’s a wonderful complement to your previous image.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. It was still a bit foggy but I was able to draw out some of the details a bit more successfully using adjustments in Camera Raw within Photoshop that I just described for you and Steve in his response to you on his Moraine Lake post.
      At first I was disappointed that he/she was a bit blocked by the trunk, but afterwards I decided that the whole composition worked well as is which is good since in the half hour I sat watching he/she did not move an inch in either direction…just preened and looked toward different sounds.

      Like

  3. I really like how the heron is integrated into the snag to form a single element to contrast with that lovely foggy emptiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes.As I replied to Ann above, they really do seem very complementary to each other. I’ll drive by there again this weekend if I can. It’s a very reliable perch for the heron and I also shot a juvenile Red Tail in this snag.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Those old once water logged trees make nice perches for the wading birds. I admire the birds; concentration with its beady eyes not missing any movement. The herons do come to fish and do not play around. A really nice photo, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Not to worry about typos, Yvonne. But if you want I can fix it and delete this comment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

