04.25.2017 Dunlop Brook Waterfall after some nice rain.

We’ve been having some nice rainfalls lately, today included, and that is making for good water photography.  I may have mentioned before that this spot is within earshot of a somewhat well traveled road, but the combination of early morning and rushing water pretty much “silenced” the sound of traffic.

From Monday the 17th.

You can always tell my favorite by the drop shadow mat.    🙂

I finally replaced my stone-age vintage iPhone with a “6” and made a video here also.

I had the opportunity to submit a small portfolio for review to be included in a gallery’s showings next year.  But as I got into making the prints, it seemed that my profile wasn’t up to snuff for the B&W entries (I kept getting a green cast) so I am passing for this time.  I have since purchased a Color Munki which has given me a good new profile and my first color print came out pretty close to how I wanted it.  You will hear folks claiming that they can get a print to match their display on the first try.  Not so if you are fussy about the color, detail, and luminance. Anyway, next up is the monochrome test print.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 04.25.2017 Dunlop Brook Waterfall after some nice rain.

  1. Wonderful shots! The water in the first one looks like taffeta. (And if you’re surprised I know taffeta from salt water taffy – – my kid sister was recently shopping for a fancy dress for a high school dance)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I hope the calibration does the trick – I bet it will. The water in these is so refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim R says:

    I see why you chose that one for the drop shadow matte. The video is a nice addition.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mass. surely has a great many waterfalls. And they are all so pretty. The brown rocks make this scene . I loved the sound of the water rushing over the rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Todd Henson says:

    Beautiful images, Steve! I always love the peaceful feel to these sorts of waterfalls. Listening to the sounds of the water calms me down. Good luck with the calibrations. I also have a Color Munki and though I’m very pleased with it so far I still find printing a challenge. I still have much to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. If you’re a fussy photographer, printing is a challenge. Things to consider are display calibration first, output profile…never sRGB(I use ProPhoto for processing and convert to Adobe RGB prior to going to print), turn off color management in your printer control panel, and let PS control printing and not your printer, prior to selecting your printer profile. The viewing environment is important too…natural daylight being the best. Some folks use a dedicated viewing booth. Maybe you already do all that. A good book to check out is Jeff Schewe’s “The Digital Print”. His “The Digital Negative” is good for understanding raw processing as well.

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    If your vintage iPhone was stone age, what does that make my Samsung flip phone? Never mind; I know. I was glad to figure out that you weren’t talking about a personal profile, but some sort of printing/color profile. I was ready to worry about you being in ill health: “green around the gills,” as we used to say.

    My favorite of the photos is the second. I like the feeling of expansiveness as the water and its course widens from back to front. It’s wonderful that you have such a spot easily accessible. I’ve been researching waterfalls in Texas, just for fun. What I’ve learned so far is that they’re all too far away for a day trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry about the ambiguity as to what profile I was speaking of, Linda. Actually, my silhouette profile isn’t too hot either. 🙂

      I guess that I am just a bit prejudiced against the second as it could have cost me some broken bones…which sounds like a reason to value it in a way. Although I was being quite careful, I started a bit of a “skid” on some slippery rocks and what you don’t see behind me is a steep drop into the next level of the waterfall. Could have been a big ouchy. There’s a lot more to the tumbling brook but that was for another day…hopefully again with no tumbling on my part.

      It’s too bad your Texan waterfalls are distant. Maybe you can figure out a way for one of your longer trips to include one or two.

      Like

  7. Glad to hear you are getting nice rains. We are here, too, and grateful because we had so little snow. For which I was also grateful. I love these photos, especially the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your work belongs in a gallery. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

