03.27.2017 Dunlop Brook

Dunlop Brook runs through Romer Woods, a 141 acre parcel that was recently protected for Amherst’s water supply. Robert Romer sold it to the town for a nice reduced price to maintain the water quality and see it protected into the future. It includes a small  cemetery where some of his relatives are buried.  I think it is his intention to rest there as well.

My posted image yesterday was of Amethyst Brook, which is nearby to the site…two of several nice brooks in this area.

I don’t often do swirls as I am not a fan of foamy water, a side-effect of tannins, but this was mostly a bubbles incident so I took advantage of the trapped water.I have only visited this location the one time, but am eager to see what flowers and small wildlife might be seen here come April and May and June, etc.      🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, ecology, Environment., Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 03.27.2017 Dunlop Brook

  1. TK says:

    I like the swirl. Very nice composition.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim R says:

    That photo has several nice elements in it. The swirl is dizzying. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    The combination of lingering snow and the quality of the light reflecting off it certain gives the cemetery a ghostly appearance. The contrast with the sign is especially effective, I think.

    The second photo stands nicely with or without the swirl. Its two slightly flattened sides brought to mind the traditional Ojos de Dios, or “eyes of God” weavings that are common in Mexico — and summer camp craft projects. They were great fun to make: a great use of yarn and popsicle sticks. Of course, many are far more complex, but I like the ones that share the simplicity of your swirl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There was just a few foggy wisps there as well, Linda.

      Back in my hippy days, we called them God’s Eyes, more or less the same thing, and lots of folks had them hanging in windows, tilted on a bookshelf, etc. Small but efficient is a good quality I think, and especially with swirls. I much prefer the bubbly ones to the foamies.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely pics. First one is interesting. Love that very old rock with the inscription.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can imagine the swirl as a spiderweb.

    Like

  6. I tried tracking the saying on the plaque, “Welcome the hope that flowers bring,” but the oldest book I could find that quoted it was from 2002, and that mention included no attribution.

    Like

  7. Nitin Khanna says:

    Great and Excellent Work. As an Photographer i can understand how much efforts are needed to capture Nature in our pictures. Appreciate Your Efforts and Work

    Like

Leave a Reply

