03.25.2017 Between a rock and a soft place

After the sunrise shot from Enfield Lookout posted a few days ago, I wandered to see if there was anything a bit more intimate.  I noticed how this rock resembles a human profile, albeit a bit exaggerated, and liked the contrast with the wind-blown semi-melted snow.Maybe the rock was kissing the snow goodbye.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 03.25.2017 Between a rock and a soft place

  1. Quite interesting photo which does appear to be a man’s profile. I would call that a lucky shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He probably already had a leave-taking, and now he’s giving the snow a kiss-off, too, this rock does blow hot and cold.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pareidolia strikes again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    It reminds me of those images that show the wind as being blown from clouds formed like a human face. I really like the play on the old phrase in your title, too. I’ve never come across that particular re-working, and I really like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as I would like to take credit for some bit o’ wit, someone has to have said that before somewhere. Maybe not. I like that you see it as a little like one of those old wind gods.

      Like

  5. Much as I hate snow I do always like seeing the patterns it makes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

