03.24.2017 Hop Brook Cascade

On February 25th, I visited Hop Brook in Holland Glen off Route 9 in Belchertown, MA., a spot that had been one of my most visited places.  A few years back, I found it to be a bit unappealing as the folks who lived in the house above the brook had dumped trash, including a mattress, down the hill.  While it wasn’t in the brook, stuff like that totally turns me off and I have a hard time being creative under those circumstances.  Added was a lot of fallen branches in the water.  This time around I found the area cleaned a bit and, while there is still wind blown forest debris in the water, I went upstream and found this sweet little cascade. 
I visualized it as a black and white image, but while processing found the hints of color below and nice tannin hue above to be enjoyable and the mono conversion went downstream.

Holland Glen is part of the M-M Trail and the new New England National Scenic Trail as well.

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 03.24.2017 Hop Brook Cascade

  1. Beautiful. Has an abstract feel. I like the colors very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd Henson says:

    I agree with petspeopleandlife, it does have an abstract feel. It reminds me of some painting styles. These are the sorts of shots I have a difficult time finding and seeing. It’s something I’m always working at, but you have become very good at it, Steve.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. I am fortunate to have several nice brooks to visit with lots of cascades This is a good time of year with all the snow doing a slow melt keeping the water levels and flows high. We’re still considered in a drought despite the foot of snow last week, so I am not confident of this summer’s opportunities but we’ll see.

      Like

  3. Jim R says:

    The photo has the qualities of a painting as Todd said above. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful. I love the dreamlike effect. Really wonderful shot.
    And I like “the mono conversion went downstream” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh: nice abstraction. You’ve mastered the technique of getting good texture in the flowing water.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I just don’t have enough good things to say about this one. It’s inviting, mysterious, and filled with a sense of presence. The color is marvelous, and I can’t stop looking at all the textures. This is what the Brazos or Mississippi wish they could be.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree, the subtle hints of color really enhance this lovely image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

