02.15.2017 The frozen evidence of surface tension

A couple of formerly floating now entrapped oak leaves.    🙂

oak-leaf-on-icy-harvard-pond-2-011617-800 oak-leaf-on-icy-harvard-pond-011617-800

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Ice, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 02.15.2017 The frozen evidence of surface tension

  1. neat shots. and I also like the captions on your two most recent posts — they would be good titles for dramas or mysteries. “The Frozen Evidence of Surface Tension” in particular sounds like a movie with Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    Our leaves will be freed this weekend as temps reach 60˚.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Steve, these are great shots of the leaves. Quite interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a lovely way to showcase fallen leaves. Really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    The top photo reminds me of the time I found a “shadow” of an oak leaf on a wooden step. The leaf was long gone, but its image was as detailed as the one left in your ice. Both images are intriguing — this is one of those times when I’m glad I don’t have to make a choice.

    I was glad to read your comment about taking care with the ice, too. I just heard today that ten people or so have lost their lives this winter in New York state, thanks to taking snowmobiles onto ice that wasn’t strong enough. Granted, you’re no snowmobile, but staying on land’s a good idea.

    Like

    • I have seen those “shadows” also, Linda. I’ve never thought to photograph them but it would make an interesting project.

      It happened in New Hampshire also and there was a close call not too far from here in WMass. I am very cautious on ice even over shallow water for a reason. Certainly common sense is part of it, but mainly because I have seen the underside of ice close up and once is enough. As a ten year old just moved into a new neighborhood and never having lived near water, I spent my first morning with some of my new neighbor kids on the ice over Lake Massasoit in Springfield. About 100 feet out a girl and I fell through the ice in fairly deep water. Amazingly, we both bobbed back up through the hole. I guess the air trapped by our winter clothes saved us. Ever since then I have been very nervous on ice, even when it is only inches or a few feet deep. Besides the danger, who wants to be soaked to the skin in sub-freezing temperatures The water in the above shots is neither shallow nor terribly deep, but I still inched my way around making these images..

      Liked by 1 person

  6. nice “catch”, Stephen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

