02.12.2017 Morning magic

I have no good reason for my absence.  Guess I’ve lost a bit of my blogger zeal.  I don’t really have anything recent to share, so here is one I processed the other day while continuing my never ending archiving.
harvard-pond-at-sunrise-in-autumn-100816-800Harvard Pond at Sunrise-October 8, 2016

We had ballpark 14″ of snow this past Thursday, 2″ Friday night and now we are in the midst of somewhere between 8″ and 14″ with some 25 mph gusts for overnight. Maybe more during the coming week.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Central Massachusetts, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 02.12.2017 Morning magic

  1. I’ve missed you! This one is lovely, with the subtle use of vegetation in the foreground to frame it.

    Are you happy about all the snow? I think you said you were hoping for some. I was just musing to myself that this has been the mildest winter I ever remember in Illinois. You can have all the snow, I don’t mind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa.

      Yes, I am happy with it. Sadly, though, I have not had a chance to shoot it, save for that one shot from my house of our rabbit disappearing. Until now, ours had also been a mild winter. We may have some more snow on Wednesday. Without a good snow pack followed by a good spring melt the brooks will run dry early, making me a sad photographer. 🙂

      Like

      • Well here’s to a good snow pack for you, then. Even as I relish the mild winter here there is a voice in my mind wondering what it will bring. We have been getting rain, though so hopefully our aquifers are being charged.

        Like

  2. Beautiful composition. The reflections in the water are stunning especially the orange glow of the clouds.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Sounds like you’re going to catch up some on your snow total. Our total is quite below normal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As is ours, Jim. But a few more storms like these two will help bring us up to the average. My friends in Maine received a lot more than we did and couldn’t find their car for a while. Despite their long legs, snow that deep is tough on moose.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’ve been thinking about you while the weather reports have swirled. I was hoping you were getting the kind of snow and ice that you like for your photos. Of course, even without snow, this one’s a beauty. I especially like the reflection of the group of trees, and the way the light spreads on the water between the trees on either side.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Our snow swirled even more than the reports, Linda. Especially today with our 25-40 mph wind gusts. I scraped the snow off our roof and that was a blustery good time. I haven’t been able, for one reason or another, to get out and enjoy it though.

      Like

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Welcome back!! I am looking forward to seeing more of the beautiful east.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. TK says:

    Welcome back Stephen. I like this one a lot. Nice colors and I love the reflection.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. krikitarts says:

    There’s no need for explanation of an absence–we all need them from time to time–I’ve taken advantage of (at least) my share. Bring us what moves you, when it moves you, and we will all benefit. What a sweet, serene scene!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m back in New Zealand but have heard about the snow in upper New England. Here we’ve had rain all day but I went out with an umbrella and managed to take some pictures in a nature preserve.

    The blogging spirit comes and goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Todd Henson says:

    Very peaceful image, Steve, and a great way to start the morning. Great to see you back, but I fully understand taking breaks. I hope you get the weather you hope for and that everyone stays warm and safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Harvard Pond is a very peaceful and serene locale, despite a minor highway passing directly by. It’s a fairly large pond located with Harvard Forest which has several tracts in Petersham. There’s a very nice trail that goes around the pond making for an enjoyable hike. I’ve had a few close encounters with beavers which has been fun.
      We’ve had little difficulty dealing with the snow so far. The last couple of days have been a good melting situation and we will approach 50 again over the weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

