12.17.2016 An oldie but a goodie

We’re receiving some more snow today which sounds lovely…18° with little breeze if any.  But the weather will change this afternoon with freezing rain or sleet to be followed by rain and 50° tomorrow.  Now it sounds like a mess.

Three years ago on this day things were indeed lovely.

Icicles-and-Cascade-Hop-Brook-010911-1-Blog

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 12.17.2016 An oldie but a goodie

  1. shoreacres says:

    This is so appealing, Steve. The combination of textures is marvelous, and really shows off the melting/freezing cycles. (Ice-cycles instead of icicles!) Not only that, the clump of snow and ice in the bottom right reminds me of a Depression glass pattern called open lace. It’s far prettier, though.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    I agree with shoreacres about the appearance.

    Your temps are going up to 50˚. How nice. Our temps will be -12˚ in the morning with a high tomorrow of -3˚. It will pass quickly, tho.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We did not quite make it to 50° but close enough to have the snow melting all day. That aided me in cleaning the driveway thoroughly before our freeze tonight…14°. Not as cold as you just experienced. Crazy ups and downs. 0° then 50° then 14°. Talk about freeze, thaw, freeze.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the trip in the time machine. That’s quite a captivating image.

    Like

  4. This photo is incredibly beautiful. I’ve not the energy to pick it apart and write why it’s so appealing other than the fact that I like B&W. It looks mighty cold and I bet that you were terribly cold while shooting the pic even if you had hand warmers in your gloves and sock warmers in your boots.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Yvonne. You are right on all counts. Heat packs in my gloves, foot warmers in my waterproof boots and still I was cold. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel the cold in Mass. and I’m feeling it in central Texas. It went from 80 degrees F on Sat to in the twenties or lower last night and today. Don’t know for sure but it was colder than a well diggers behind last an today. It’s almost 4 pm and I finished outdoor chores and now I will head to Pets Mart in bit for some Purina One dog food. Stupid me did not stock up as I should have. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been pretty good keeping the pup’s larder filled, but have come close to running out. I did run out of Cheerios one night…it’s always been part of making breakfast the night before…which are shared with our dog and I didn’t want to disappoint him so went out for a box. Mary Beth would have done without but not Bentley or Murphy or Dixie nor Cassie before him. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • This made me laugh. Our animals will not go without even if we do. They are dependent on us so there you have it. I spent a small fortune at Pets Mart last night (sunday). I ccaugh some goo sales on what I feed to mya cats and also of the dogs. Some food was ooff by $5 and some off by $3. I got a huge cat tree at 1/2 price for $80 and that was a steal. I was just lucky. I also got ab0ut 5-6 coupons (from Pets Mart) worth $5 each which the clerk redeemed as she checked. The manager was helping her and I was grateful. They know I am probably one of their very best customers. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. And you were thinking, perhaps, of this song?

    Like

  6. Todd Henson says:

    Very nice. I like these more isolated detail shots, and the 3 textures (running water, snow, and ice) work well together. Good choice as a black and white.

    We missed most of the storm, had a thin sheet of ice first thing Saturday morning, but after that melted everything warmed back up. Hope you fared well up that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Water and extreme cold make a wonderful combination. Quite often, as in this case, the choice of monochrome is made for me by the image contents.

      As I mentioned to Jim above, it’s been a thermal roller coaster here lately. Today made a mess of things and tonight will freeze that solid. Not sure what I’ll find tomorrow. As far as I know, just minor fender benders around here and nothing as terrible as what happened by Baltimore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

