11.14.2016 Monochrome Monday

I may have posted this before, but the subject of flowers in black and white came up on another photographer’s blog the other day and reminded me of a couple of images I liked in monochrome- this being one of them.

Yellow-star-in-mono-060114-700Yellow Star Grass (Hypoxis hirsuta) in Quabbin Park.

The flowers are gone for 2016 now.  The foliage is mostly done except for a few lingering yellow maples and the bronze autumn leaves of the oaks.  We are firing up the wood-stove nightly and switched to flannel sheets.  The snow blower is going in for it’s annual checkup today and we’re keeping Bentley warm with a nice comfy coat on his walks.  All that said, it will hit 60° today, but maybe for the last time…or not.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 11.14.2016 Monochrome Monday

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    That’s a nice grey shot. I see why you liked it.

    We have some nice weather to send your way for a few more days.

    Did you see the moon this morning? I got up to position myself for a few interesting shots. Thanks to the Photographer’s Ephemeris app.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as we enjoy nice weather, wet would be better. Still droughty here. The last few days have been in the 50’s but I think we’re in for some pretty cold days ahead.

      Not this morning. But I did go out last night. Nothing special.

      So I have a question for you, Jim. If the fully illuminated near side of the moon is called full, why is half that disk called a quarter and not a half? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    I like your monochrome. When I first became interested in native plants, my preference always was for color: partly, I suppose, because it seemed easier to identify flower when color was a key. But as time when on, and I started paying attention to photography, I began to appreciate black and white more. Besides, I’ve learned that shape sometimes is as important as color in identification, and there are times when black and white better reveals shape. I suppose that’s why I find my books with line drawings so useful. In a forced choice, I’d still take color. Luckily, we don’t have to make that choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. During the 26 days we were away from Austin the temperature in central Texas apparently remained warm. The fall foliage report for Lost Maples, an area of reliable leaf color a few hours west of Austin, says that there hasn’t been much, and what little there was got blown down by wind. Maybe we’ll still manage some fall color in December. I sure hope so.

    I’d counted on seeing fall color in Guadalupe Mountains National Park last week, but on the day we drove there the sky got cloudier and cloudier, so in the end I gave up the idea of hiking in to see the leaves; I hate photographing up into gray-white skies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Steve, this image works really well in black and white. The lighting is perfect, and I love the dew and detail in the flower. I’ve found myself appreciating black and white imagery more and more as time goes by. I still don’t think I “see” in black and white, so I don’t often shoot with monochrome in mind, but I do experiment with it in post far more often than I used to. I hope to become more intentional with it over time. Lately I’ve been going through books by Michael Kenna and Sebastiao Salgado, real masters of monochrome.

    Had to scrape a thin layer of frost off the car windows this morning, first time this year. Makes it a bit more of a challenge to get out of bed in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m rejoicing in the warm weather, but you are right that some rain would be good. The thing I like about black and white for native plants is it lets you focus on the amazing form of the plant. My friends tease me about my pen and ink series, but I never get tired of watching a plant take form on the page as my dots accumulate. This photo is so striking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

