11.04.2016 1794 Meetinghouse with the setting Full Hunters Moon.

A landmark in New Salem, the 1794 Meetinghouse is currently an entertainment venue but has a long varied history. I have to embarrassingly admit to never having attended a concert there, although I have heard the birds greet the day as the sun gently lights the sky.

1794-meeting-house-101716-800

I shared an image from here previously this past January.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Full Moon, Landscape, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 11.04.2016 1794 Meetinghouse with the setting Full Hunters Moon.

  1. Oh, I actually thought it was a church under that lovely moon. Is USA removing Christianity too, like Western Europe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ir was a church long ago, Bente. Some churches come and go depending on membership…the history of this church is in the linked article. There is debate here about a “war on christianity” that I won’t get into, but that had nothing to do with this particular church’s demise.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    In the article you linked, it says, “For a brief time, the nearby building which had been used as a library for years, also known as the Town House, served as a smaller venue for special Meetinghouse events…” Is that the small building to the right in your photo? Or are those two buildings: the Town House and another church?

    I very much like the low moon. Moonset always seems such a peaceful time to me, and this is a nice capture of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I believe that the middle building is the town house mentioned (now a private home), Linda. Directly across the street is the current library (not in the picture, obviously). Furthest to the right is the Central Congregational Church. I’ll find out for sure.

      Like

  3. I love this picture. The old church and those trees with the moon are made for the month of October in a calendar. Ever thought of putting a calendar together- small scale to begin with?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. I did a calendar a few years back…well, I didn’t, a designer did for a printing company using my images. I might do so someday and I know a few photographers who do that, but I haven’t got off my comfy chair to do one myself yet. One of these days. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

