11.02.2016 One more in the series

of images looking northward from New Salem’s Lookout on Route 202.

north-quabbin-new-salem-101016-800Although the foreground color (which WP over-saturates…wish they had color management built in) and light sort of arrests your attention, it was the light in the distance on Pack Monadnock  and the sky above that excited me…seen better if you click the image to see larger.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 11.02.2016 One more in the series

  1. Ron Hillmar says:

    Amazing colours! I miss autumn 😉
    Greetings from Malaysia,
    Ron

    Like

  2. Todd Henson says:

    I can’t think of a better way to start the day than seeing some beautiful scenery captured in beautiful light. Thanks, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

    • And thanks to you in return, Todd. I much prefer the beginning of the day to the end in most cases. OTOH, hard to get a shot of moonrise in the morning. Now the end of the day is coming earlier and next week even earlier.

      Like

  3. Over saturation or not this is a beautiful scene. I’m impressed with the entire photo.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Beautiful range of color. What have you got planned for the Supermoon on the 14th? I’ve always been meaning to ask … how do you keep from overexposing the moon itself while, at the same time, getting any other sort of detail in the photo?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I may shoot it from this location…but a bit to the right as this is almost due north. Controlling the exposure depends on the locale. In this spot, and other open landscapes, I would be shooting most likely with a wide angle because the open view allows for better light in the foreground balancing things a little better. If I was more closed in I’d have to choose between accepting trees etc in shadowed conditions or blending exposures. Another possibility is shooting one frame for the landscape and another for the moon and replacing the overexposed moon with the second. If I do that I extend my zoom a bit to make the second a little larger for easier pasting. Lately I’ve more favored the first whenever I can, thus my thought of this expansive view or possibly another over the reservoir itself…which yielded a nice super moon image a few years back. Scroll down for our discussion of my settings.
      https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/08-11-2014-full-sturgeon-moon/

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Looking at this, and reading your discussion, I’m feeling a little better about some of my mountain photos. It’s not that they’re any better: they aren’t. But it’s a fact that still-green mountains shrouded in fog just don’t have anything to pull in the eye. Now that I’m home, with a much better monitor, I find myself saying, “Yep. That’s just what it looked like.” It just wasn’t very attractive or interesting.

    On the other hand, this is great. I see what you mean about the color saturation in the foreground, but I don’t find it distracting. It is better balanced in the larger version, I think, but in either case I love that spot of color.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Linda. Not seeing your pictures I can’t make any sort of critique, assuming you would want one, but what you describe can be interesting if you find something to include to help the image…a pond, a tree, etc. I love fog so it’s hard to think of such scenery as uninteresting, just challenging.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        You have a point. I could have included the dividing line on the highway, for example. That often was the only thing visible! “Shrouded in fog” implies one kind of scene, but it actually was more like “invisible in the fog.” You probably could have done something with it all, but I just didn’t have the skill — or the patience!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, that is a toughie. Your dividing line could have hinted at the great unknown awaiting your explorations or maybe just a frame full of fog with a quippy few words super-imposed. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

