10.22.2016 Organized Chaos

I know that I have mentioned my favorite collection of Eliot Porter’s work to be Nature’s Chaos.  It’s a real challenge to look into total disorganization and find something coherent to share.  Once in a while I manage to find such a scene as I drive through the Quabbin Park and one of those times netted this image last week. I had just finished photographing the full moon over a cove in the park and was driving around when this caught my eye.

quabbin-park-foliage-101616-800The park is fairly dense so finding a gap is not always easy. It was good fortune as well.  Today I drove through here again and most of the leaves are fallen or faded. What was left this morning will no doubt be completely gone with the rain and wind we have had and is forecast for tonight.  Nice while it lasted.

But…the Holyoke Range is just turning and there may still be some peak foliage to be seen once the weather improves.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 10.22.2016 Organized Chaos

  1. Gail Platz says:

    Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    I followed the link and was caught by this one I liked.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You chose well. Good luck finding more in the Holyoke Range.

    Like

  4. TK says:

    Love the colors! I wish we had some here.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Astounding colors in this scene. Just can’t duplicate what nature creates. But at least it can be captured on film for our enjoyment. This was another fortunate find. You’re good at finding something to shoot. Kinda like a bloodhound uses its nose and you with your eyes or maybe some intuition thrown in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Is that mostly Oak and Beech I’m seeing? We had 36 wonderful hours of rain and then wind and falling temperatures. There was enough solid precipitation on the windshield of the truck this morning that I was able to greet Joanna with the first (small) snowball of the season. She was not pleased … not pleased at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, mostly oak and beech with a few maples mixed in. Seriously? I learned about snowballs and girlfriend/spouse many, many years ago. Actually, just girlfriend. I learned that lesson long before Mary Beth came along. Too early for snow. The Berkshires got some but that’s 50 miles away.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha. You and I must be cut from the same mold. When in high school, I was standing at the bus stop with a girl (who I liked very well) and thought it might be fun to toss a snowball at her (you know, as a show of endearment). The snow was quite wet. I grabbed a bit, formed it into a tight ball, and threw it (with a bit too much authority). It hit her right between the eyes. I felt terrible. The fact that I remember that morning, 40 years later, must say something about just how terrible I felt.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Funny how guilt follows us, some of us at least, throughout our lives. At least, in this case, I was somewhat provoked by her into a snowball fight. Like you, I fought with a bit too much zeal. We were distant enough so no real harm done, but I did land a few too many direct hits compared to my friend’s none. Lesson learned.

        Like

  7. So glad you caught this at peak. Amazing how quickly the fall colors change, literally from one day to the next, sometimes. The cold weather, rain and wind really did a job on our leaves! This picture captures the essence of fall, very beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 10.25.2016 Full Hunter’s Moon over Quabbin | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

