10.19.2016 Walkin’ up a country road

Looking at my pre-Quabbin map of the area, with the proposed reservoir overlaid, I think this is River Road or it may be a continuation of New Boston Road in Shutesbury.  River Road seems the more likely.  In modern terms, it is a road that runs between Gates 16A and 16. I wasn’t expecting anything this lovely when I started my hike but who’s complaining?  Not I.

gate-16a-101016-800I will admit to a little puffing by the time I reached the top.  I’ll never learn to pare down the load.

For the fungus amongus enthusiasts, this little gem-studded puffball (Lycoperdon perlatum) awaited me as I returned to the car.

gem-studded-puffball-gate-16-101016-800At this point the sun had risen and was shining through three branches making things a bit contrasty.  That was controlled with a handheld 30″ diffuser.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Fungi, Landscape, Mushrooms, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 10.19.2016 Walkin’ up a country road

  1. Gallivanta says:

    A trip worth the puff.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd Henson says:

    “A trip worth the puff.” I like that, made me laugh. 🙂 Really nice image, Steve. I like this one. There’s a story there. Follow the road and what will I find? I want to follow it and see. It’s a peaceful one, a nice curvy road leading on up the hill through some beautiful color, and the road leads us right to the color. Well worth the hike!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The puffing made me gasp, but Ann’s comment did make me smile too. I have walked this gate once or twice before but everything on this particular day, light and color, gave me a visualization of this image.

      Like

  3. I empathize with you from having done my share of puffing at 7000 ft. That’s one price we pay for our pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrew says:

    Terrific shots Steve. Fungus amongus – a new species maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The first one strikes me as having that classic range of fall color … but presented in quite a different way. Red, orange, yellow, and green … but not in big splashes. Scattered about. There’s something about this and the clarity of the image which gives the whole thing a texture which gives the impression of an impressionistic painting? I like it very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Although most I have seen are black and white work, this seems a little more pointillistic to me, David. I’ll be posting some color riots too, but I think my preference is for mixes like this. Of course, red and green are complements, but I think they all work together with the green interspersed.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I swear to goodness. This is so beautiful it makes me want to pack my bags, erase all my cards, and just go home. I’m so depressed over the crap photos I’ve gotten on this trip — I just don’t know what’s the matter.

    On the other hand — I am on midwestern prairies, which is a different sort of subject. And, after all that fog in Arkansas, the good people at the Tallgrass Prairie here in Kansas decided it was time for some prescribed burns — and that sent billows of smoke over every single danged place I was trying to take photos. When I looked at the results — well, I just was depressed.

    So: onward! I’m going back to a couple of places tomorrow, to see if I can do better. That is one good thing about having a few days in one place — there’s always a second chance. On the other hand, maybe I should just buy an iphone and stop messing with these cameras. Ain’t I the cheerful one? 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve been there (the less than satisfying photos, that is) and empathize with you, Linda. It’s even worse when it happens on a vacation. But, and this is hard to swallow right now, it is all part of the learning process that never ends. We all just share the good stuff…a lot of those ones and zeroes end up in the digital trash barrel. 🙂

      Watch those smoky skies at sundown. I have seen some incredible images from folks who are seeing distant fires/ smoke and amazing skies as a result.

      There’s a lot to be said for iPhonography. But I think you’ll enjoy your kit more as time goes by. C’mon…crack a smile for us.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        I’m smiling a bit more, for sure. A lot of nightime analysis revealed that (per usual) it wasn’t just one problem. It was a combination of ignorance, sloppiness, and unusual conditions that I couldn’t have affected if I’d tried. For example: having figured out that you can change the metering method on the camera, I neglected the second lesson, which is — if you change it, don’t forget to change it back. 🙂 I went through most of Arkansas using center-weighted averaging, and suffered for it. But, some can be saved, I think.

        I also figured out that, until muscle memory really is set, look at the danged dials to be sure which one you’re turning. Confusing them can lead to unhappy results.

        And, as a photographer pointed out to me one night, the combination of harvesting and semi-trucks running the gravel roads was putting quite a pall into the air. She suggested trying to take any “important photos” in the morning, before the dust got stirred up in huge, hanging clouds. There are millions and millions of bushels of corn and milo sitting on the ground, and every bushel comes with a modicum of dust.

        So, as we say: live and learn. I think I did better once I realized all this. I’m anxious now to get home and see how things look.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Again, just growing pains. Even after years of shooting, I occasionally forget to reset my ISO to 100 after higher speeds. No big deal, but there’s a little added noise in the shadows. Like you said, “muscle memory” and instinct will eventually settle in.

        It’s hard to know when the “important photos” will present themselves. 🙂

        Like

  7. Steve, this is another fantastic photograph. The curving country road looks so inviting but I would need to drive it, if that were allowed. I see there are two dirt tracks so I’m assuming vehicles drive there. The scene is post card or calendar pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. It is one of my favorites from the foliage week and most likely will be hanging around here somewhere. There are so many pleasing places, quiet and peaceful, to hike in the watershed.
      No, there is no driving allowed except for DCR (Department of Conservation and Recreation) vehicles for maintenance and permitted loggers. A few gates allow bicycle riding and, during hunting season, hunters with permits are also able to bring in a vehicle.

      Like

Leave a Reply

