10.18.2016 A Tree Grows on Branch Bridge Road

I began my vacation 12 days ago and have been spending as much time as possible in the Quabbin watershed-mostly capturing foliage images. Did some yard work too, but it was all about autumn shooting and we have had surprisingly good color.  A lot of the leaves are blowing out of the trees on this blustery yet warm (82°) October day.  It’s been a blast.  I am not sure I am ready to return to work, but money is running out.

Branch Bridge Road in New Salem isn’t exactly within Quabbin, but is part of North Quabbin and therefore part of the watershed.  I was particularly attracted to this leaning tree.  When finding such an oddly configured tree one has to wonder what caused the growth in this way. There is obvious damage at the base…could it have lost a branch previously that caused a change in balance? This is a narrow dirt road and it is right on the edge.  Maybe someone hit it with their car at some point.

branch-bridge-road-tree-2-100816-800I am sorry for missing so many of your posts and comments on mine.  I will try to stay a bit more current.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Autumn Color, Fall Foliage, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 10.18.2016 A Tree Grows on Branch Bridge Road

  1. I had begun to wonder where you had gone. Being on vacation and out with the camera is the best explanation I can think of. I wonder how images of our respective fall colors will compare. We were ‘totally beautiful’ here. Things are surely winding down now. We traveled to Ithaca again last week and things were equally beautiful there. We had lots of nice reds and spectacular oranges and gold. Building project is proceeding. The wallboard is in and floors are next. I just hope we can be out of the RV when the cold really sets in. We were promised temperatures in the 70s today but the ‘mercury’ didn’t even hit 60. Glad you’re back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The tree beside the road is absolutely beautiful. Twisted and gnarled trees are beautiful me. That’s a lovely scene too. I’m so glad that you found the tree.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne.

      I think I, and possibly we and many others, are drawn to gnarled and twisted trees and other forms because they speak of life experiences as well as presenting a bit of mystery. And some of us can relate to the twisting on a personal level as we gather more years.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Greetings from 7000 feet and the middle of the night in Flagstaff, Arizona, where it’s 38°. Glad to hear you’ve experienced good fall color in Massachusetts. The only thing we’ve seen along those lines here is a few Arizona ash trees turning a little bit yellow.

    What kind of tree is your colorful and graceful subject?

    Like

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Here comes the color! I love this composition, Steve, both the leaning tree, and the view of the distant shore through the fog under the tree. Works really well. Just south of DC we’re only beginning to see some traces of color turn up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of the things I have wanted to do is follow the foliage to the southern states. Have yet to do so, but one of these years I will…especially West Virginia and the Smokies. The Blue Ridge Parkway is on my radar as well….your neighborhood, I guess.

      Like

      • Todd Henson says:

        I haven’t been through the Blue Ridge Parkway yet, but I have been over Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park, a number of times. Skyline Drive turns into the Blue Ridge Parkway south of the park. Another suggestion, especially if you’re interested in a little history, might be Harper’s Ferry. That’s a beautiful area.

        Like

      • Mary Beth had a friend who lived in Lynchburg for a few years and she visited but I never got down there. I’m not much for traveling so who knows whether I will ever visit that area even if it is quite driveable to get there.

        Like

    • Btw, I am finding it a slight pain to post comments on your blog. We are required to fill in our information for every comment and that info is not saved or recognized. As well, when I just tried to like your response, I was asked to log in but it refuses to recognize my email address so that didn’t work out. I did register a while ago. I don’t think it’s something on your part. Square Space seems a bit wonky.

      Like

      • Todd Henson says:

        Sorry about the issues you’re having. Squarespace is great for nice looking websites, but is more limited with their blogging features. I’ll look into whether there’s anything I can do to improve any of that. I appreciate your bringing it to my attention.

        Like

      • Most of this is more than a ten-foot pole over my head. WordPress is pretty easy for a basic blog which is all I wanted. My website is through PhotoShelter and I just use their template. If I had to actually know anything about this I’d be at a loss.

        Like

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Perhaps a wild storm caused the damage but whatever happened the tree has survived with fortitude and grace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

