10.05.2016 A rainy day on Quabbin Hill

The Quabbin Observation Tower has been photographed by many.  I’ve made a few images but am always looking for something a little different.  This past Saturday offered a little mood in the way of a light fog and a bit of breezy drizzle.  As I walked around I decided that I liked the way the two trees framed the tower, but there was the matter of the conical tree.  A little movement either way made a difference but I felt lining the tree and tower up made the best composition and a nice contrast in tones.

foggy-quabbin-hill-and-tower-100116-800Foliage season has indeed started although peak is still a little bit of a wait.  My vacation starts Friday and, for a week and a half, I hope to collect a bunch of images to share here.  There is one already in the pipeline.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 10.05.2016 A rainy day on Quabbin Hill

  1. I like how you liked up the tree. You’re right, it makes a nice study in contrast. Enjoy your vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd Henson says:

    Very nice image, Steve. I like the alignment of the tree in front of the tower. Nice touch. You do really well creating peaceful images with a beautiful simplicity to them. I like that.

    Have a great vacation! I just returned from a week long vacation in Maine. Went up there with my father, reminded me of vacations when I was younger. Nice to get away, and fun going through all the images afterwards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. There’s enough chaos out there…peace is sometimes hard to come by in everyday life so I look for it as much as possible in my photography.

      Whereabouts in Maine? We had planned on a week around Acadia but when we adopted Bentley decided to stick around here. I still haven’t figured out how to subscribe to your blog, so let me know when some of the Maine images are up to be seen.

      Like

      • Todd Henson says:

        We were mostly in the Acadia region. Stayed in Ellsworth and drove to Mount Desert Island three of the days, explored as much of the island as we could (there’s a lot to see). Spent one day over on the Schoodic Peninsula portion of the park, which is much smaller but a very nice drive. We were lucky enough to watch a family of river otter playing in the river then on shore off the side of the road in a stream. Not sure how the photos of them came out, but it was a great experience. Also spent one night in Scarborough and another in Freeport, saw some of the sights between those towns, such as Portland.

        Acadia is absolutely beautiful. Very crowded at times. I’m happy we went there during the week instead of on a weekend. Most hotels/motels were reporting no vacancies, and this was before the leaves had started changing. Can’t image how busy it will be when the foliage is out in full color (possibly now or soon?).

        I actually put up a post this week with images of lighthouses. I’ve gotten into the habit of posting once a week, so I’ll likely stick to that, with a new post each Tuesday morning. Sorry about the lack of a subscription feature. I’m planning on adding that soon in the form of an email list. Had hoped to have that up before the vacation, but time got the better of me. Will definitely let you know when it’s up. Thanks for asking about it.

        Like

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Good composition. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A foggy day on Quabbin Hill and it’s beautiful. Love the mystery of fog and the quietness of the scene.

    Like

  5. You were fortunate that the alignment of the little tree with the tower still allowed just enough space that no part of the larger trees overlapped the tower. I know how fastidious you are about keeping things apart if at all possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The light fog and breezy drizzle does create the most interesting and engaging image.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    Good morning, and happy vacation! I’m rarely up and around when you are, at least first thing in the morning, but here I am. I like the slant of the trees in this one. They seem interested in the tower tree, or perhaps even protective. Perhaps they’re just trying to get a better look, peering through the fog. It’s a wonderful, out-on-the-moors sort of scene: the sort I imagined when I first read Brontë’s Jane Eyre.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. krikitarts says:

    Lovely composition, and how I do love the opportunity of a good fog. Beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

