09.29.2016 Early Morning View of Mount Monadnock from Enfield Lookout

Here’s another in my series of this composition.  Habits can be hard to break and this is one I doubt I shall ever do so.  Just too enjoyable.

mount-monadnock-from-enfield-lookout-2-092516-800

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 09.29.2016 Early Morning View of Mount Monadnock from Enfield Lookout

  1. Gallivanta says:

    No need to break such a good habit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Todd Henson says:

    I agree with Ann. When composition and beautiful light come together you get images like this. This is another of yours with a peaceful feel to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. I am not sure I can describe the difference, but I find sunrise more peaceful than sunset. I suppose it may be the continued peace and quiet from the night as the daylight approaches as opposed to the heat and bustle of the day still hovering in the air as the sun goes down. Or maybe it’s all in my head. But for me the morning is where peace is found.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I appreciate your sunrise photos even more, now that I’ve done my first guided photo walk. The point was to get out on the prairie by 6:30 a.m., so it was up at 5:00. The scene was nothing like this, but there was ground fog, sparkly dew, sunlit cumulus, and a whole lot of things I didn’t have a clue how to photograph. But I did think to myself, “This is a Gingold morning, for sure” — and it wasn’t just the hour that made me think so.

    I like the way autumn color has overtaken the sky.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yeah, I’d love to be on the prairie in conditions like that. Come to think of it, the prairie would be nice under a variety of conditions – each different one day to the next.

      Did the guide help you decide how to go about photographing the scenery? I would hope so if you needed the assistance. 5:00 does sound familiar. 🙂

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Let’s just say the guide provided some input. Bits of advice included: never shoot toward the sun; if you want to photograph flowers, it’s best done with a black cloth behind them; shooting flowers or other plants against the sky rarely is satisfactory; always center your subject. I took it all under advisement. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am behind, yet again, in my replies but this merited an immediate response….Holy Crapoly!!!! That is some of the worst photographic advice I have ever heard. I think “under advisement” shows you to be a much more polite individual than I. LOL

        Like

      • shoreacres says:

        It still was a worthwhile morning in many ways. And he gets lots of credit in my book for volunteering on a regular basis to show people areas of the nature center we might not find on our own. And there’s nothing wrong with not following someone’s advice — especially if we know why!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jesse says:

    Beautiful. Man I miss New Hampshire!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a nice triple set of diagonals.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jane Lurie says:

    Love your compositional choices, Stephen. Diagonals and thirds make your image very appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful colors that I Iove. So subtle yet catches the eye. The hills jutting out into the lake really make this photo stand out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Those hills are now islands due to the flooding of the valley to create the reservoir. It is always thought-provoking to look into this valley and realize that 80 or so years ago there were four towns and people’s homes out there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know the water was/is needed but gee when you think about it, those were likely really old and or historic towns and lovely old homes. That’s progress for you and sometimes it’s a good thing and sometimes it’s a question of ethics. However that is merely my own personal feelings for I am sentimental about old things and animals. 🙂 Of all the inventions, I have yet to figure our why modern science has not found a way to “de-saline” ocean water. Actually I think that has been done but there must be some reason for not doing it on a large scale or maybe not.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Desalination is a real thing, but it is expensive and would require plants near the ocean which people oppose on aesthetics in some cases. I imagine there is a lot of push back as well just like with the use of petroleum versus renewables.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Sorry to be so long to respond to this one. We’ve been to Ithaca, yet again. Nice photo. Pleasant tones. Still no rain here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, David. No problem…I am always tardy lately and I have not gone to Ithaca or anywhere else.
      We got some rain last weekend, mostly drizzle and mist with one or two brief downpours, but not enough to make much of a difference. I don’t think it even soaked our compost bin.

      Like

  9. Indeed~I would say this is a heart-healthy habit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

